A Guardian Angel to Alliance. That is how singer Wayne Marshall describes himself, as he feels he was called to fullfil a specific purpose in music.
"Is a conscious effort, but it's natural to me. That's how I entered the business, mi bring positive messages fi uplift people and yuh still have a career. That's what I get my talent for, to inspire. Yuh can do good tunes and still get respect for it as well," Marshall says.
Although Wayne Marshall is not known for slackness or portraying the gangster image that many persons may align to other members of the Alliance, Marshall sees his role in the Alliance as trying to bring some amount of balance.
"Me a di guardian angel weh haffi be among dem (Alliance). My role in the Alliance is to bring dah kind a vibe deh. They might be known for the gangsta vibes but everybody in the Alliance represent various things, it's never jus a one-track thing. But I jus be me an do my part and Bounty, Mavado, everybody else in the Alliance accept me for that. Mi nuh haffi change who me is, mi nuh feel pressured and I feel I have a very important role to play in the Alliance and balance out how people view me an my crew," Marshall said.
This attitude undoubtedly reflects in many of Marshall's recent songs. For example, Marshall has a couple of songs warning about HIV, AIDS in Dying For A Cure featuring Alaine and Silent Murderer. Then other songs like Happy Days, Praise Him and I See The Picture (produced by Mickey Bennett and featured on Third World's Grammy-nominated album) and more recently, a song with gospel deejay, Prodigal Son all speak to Marshall's thrust on the righteous path.
"Some of my songs are like a divine intervention. I always try to be conscious and righteous as possible when I'm formatting my lyrics," Marshall said.
Natural vibe
As for working with Prodigal, Marshall says, "It was a natural vibe, he works with Solid Agency and the rhythm was bouncing. Prodigal had a likkle idea and mi jus come on an voice my piece. It's basically wising up di youts, telling them they don't have the power to give life so why take it. All judgement should be left up to God."
Adding, "Me, Assassin and Buju also have a tune coming out soon, it's about giving praises and glorifying the one who gives us life an mi really a look forward to that song being released soon cause in that song we glorify that is one God that everybody come under."
Currently, Marshall has a video out for Forgive Them Please, directed by Ras Kasa on the campfire label, but says, "Nuff more things a come fi di new year, whole heap a work a gwaan right now. Wi doing some more videos soon for Polly Tics and some other songs we have out."