Topic: Horrific board attack on woman - Seeking help after assault in the dark

Horrific board attack on woman - Seeking help after assault in the dark

A near-death experience. This is how 20-year-old Melissa Nelson from Greater Portmore, St. Catherine described the incident where she was brutally hit in her face by an unknown assailant about two weeks ago.

According to Nelson, on the evening of February 4, about 8 p.m., she was walking through a dark alley on her way home from work when she was hit in the face with what she has described as "a heavy piece of board."

"I know I did pass someone in the dark but I didn't see his face, but all I can remember is that by the time I turned around to look what was happening behind me I felt something hit me in my face twice," Nelson said.

THE STAR understands that Nelson's teeth were shattered, her forehead burst and her nose was broken, as a result of the incident.

"My nose bled for three days and since the incident I have been having terrible headaches. It's now two weeks since the incident and I have four stitches for the cut on my forehead but I will have to do a scan on my head. Normally I am a chicken person and now I cannot eat food, I only can eat like cheese, irish and drink fluids."

counselling

She further reasoned, "the doctor advised me to get counselling because I cannot sleep or stay in the dark. I am still nervous when it touch like 8 o'clock in the night because I am still afraid of the dark."

When THE STAR spoke with Nelson's mother, Lorraine Nelson, she told us "It was a terrible act, they could have killed her, if it was her bag they wanted why dem just didn't take her bag, dem never had to mash her up. Right now she is traumatised because she can't sleep in the dark and she is going to need some counselling."

When asked if she had any argument with anyone before the incident, or if she has any idea as to who could have done this to her, Nelson's response was "No, I didnt have anything with anyone, my bag was stolen with about $3000 cash, my phone, MP4 player, digital camera, among other valuables."

The incident, which caught the radio station, Kool 97 FM's attention has evoked some amount of attention to the matter as their listeners have been asked to make their kind donations to an account that was set up for Nelson to help with her medical expenses.

Michael Barnett, show presenter from the radio station said, "It could be anyone of us daughter. it's just a tragic incident and we should help out this sister, and I want the police to catch whoever did this because he needs to learn that he can't be going around beating up women."

Efforts by THE STAR yesterday to contact the Bridgeport police, where Nelson reported the incident, proved futile.

Anyone who wishes to assist Melissa Nelson may make their donations to RBTT account #441-03-172-005-604-06.

oh god! hush yah! no

Don't Read This Again

damn...duppy a walk again?hmmhmmhmm

THAT EFF UP..

follow-me-on-Twitter-com-as-I-follow-Christ.jpg

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++