Topic: BLACK MY STORY (BLACK HISTORY MONTH POEM) - LYRICAL GEM-IN-I

Member
Posts: 558

BLACK MY STORY (BLACK HISTORY MONTH POEM) - LYRICAL GEM-IN-I

LYRICS:

New page on a calendar that soon get thin

To celebrate the journey, the colour of our skin

Full of flavour, black, brown & mixed

Paving out the way but the road not fixed

Bumps were made bigger by the bruises they took

Unlike Haitian grounds, their confidence never shook

Growing debts to society without receiving a fee

Paid heavy costs for all a wi to be free

But why do we keep biting at the hands that fed

Just a think bout the green, mek di place run red

Just makes you feel blue how much potential get waste

Slowin the growth by wanting things in haste

Drop dem ambitions, haffi pick up the slack

Give keys to di front or access to back door

Close up dem minds, open Pandoras box

Pick dem spots like a kid with chicken pox

So many unwritten chapters in this book of L.I.F.E

Full up a too much pride, cause endless strife

Wheres the next MLK, Garvey or Obama

A time fi use wi wide range in this growing panorama

HIStory nuh mek di grade, mark it as a fail

Black My Story, the time to tell our tale

MBROWN
Posts: 12191

Posts: 371

KR
Posts: 6327
blesed blessed.

R.M
Posts: 7701
bravo

Member
Posts: 558
Respect fi di ratings peeps.

MBROWN