After stepping out of her black, high wedge-heeled shoes and stepping up to the stage at the Village Blues Bar on Sunday night, Queen Ifrica performed 'Lioness on the Rise', near capacity audience whooping its encouragement.
Performing with an emphasis on melody and the range of her voice, without trying to whip up the audience with theatrics - not that they were not duly whipped up anyway - Ifrica eventually instructed the person playing the tracks "pull it up Ryan".
And she instructed the audience "this is where you clap", which they did. "Me used to all kinds of audiences, but this one close up," Ifrica said. "And guess what? Me shy. But me love it, cause a music."
Ifrica was the penultimate performer on the final staging of 'Seh Sup'm', the poetry and live-music event which is staged on the final Sunday of the month, for 2010. The November edition of the Root Cause produced event was a benefit for the M&N Foundation for Aspiring Youth, the two organisations' second collaboration of the year.
While Ifrica did not deliver spoken word pieces she certainly spoke her mind at the Village Blues Bar, in between Iguana, Heroes, Brown Skin, Far AwayProtect and Serve and Below the Waist, she spoke at length about visiting Tredegar Park, the importance of showing children affection, bleaching (introducing her all-natural cousin on stage in the process), how women should support their men and advertising, among other issues
Tony Rebel wrapped up the night in fine style, with a mixture of deejaying and singing, the latter including Gregory Isaacs' Night Nurse' supported by a scaled down Triplicity. He claimed his place in originating Jamaican music, saying "the genre whe name singjay inna reggae, a me create it. And me make the name too".
While the term is now widely used, he said "them not even know who create it. Me talk up a Village. A me".