Topic: Lawsuit coming from Vaz for Sunday Herald

Lawsuit coming from Vaz for Sunday Herald

douglas%20vaz.jpg

Seems as if Sunday Herald has touched Vaz's corn once again. The information Minister is breathing legal actions down at the cash strapped newspaper.

All this is stemming from a story that was carried in the Herald on Sunday which reported that he had negotiated a generous agreement with the tax department over an outstanding $74-million GCT bill owed by Ultimate Exotics Limited, a company of which he is a principal shareholder.
The article also said that Vaz's car dealership company owed over $400 million in taxes up to November 2010.

Vaz has dismissed the claims as erroneous and spurious, and said that the Sunday Herald has endeavoured over the last few weeks to sully his reputation and scupper his chances of being victorious at the upcoming internal elections of the ruling Jamaica Labour Party (JLP).
"The tax department cannot and does not divulge people's tax records, and so to make this despicable claim which has no foundation requires me to take legal action," Vaz said yesterday.

Vaz, who appears to be a strong favourite to win next Sunday's election for the post of JLP general secretary, gave what he said was an example of the Sunday Herald's unremitting efforts to besmirch his name and reputation. He pointed to a recent article about his ex-business partner which, he said, tried to marry him to the incident reported although it had nothing whatsoever to do with him.

"Nowhere in the article in question is it mentioned that my ex-partner is married to Deputy Prime Minister Ken Baugh's daughter, yet it chooses to focus on me," he said.

"This tabloid heaps abuses on me week in, week out, and it has got to stop', he said. "It is beginning to look like if I don't feature in some headline, the Sunday Herald cannot sell, which says a lot about that media house.

"I have been through a lot in my 47 years and I am a fighter. As old-time Jamaican folk say: "People don't throw stone at fluxy mango."

F***er ..dem a pure lie dem ****y deh tell pon people...a hope dem get lock down

mi nuh believe nuttin weh vaz say....

vaz a wah ****yhole.. mi no rate him at all.. him fi go suk him madda

-- Edited by STUWY77 on Monday 29th of November 2010 12:37:48 PM