Thugs warring over a stolen rifle have forced some residents in a Corporate area community to either flee their homes or to be living in fear.
"Di place tense, dem seh everybody fi move out because dem a send threat seh people a go dead ... Most people nah go want to talk because dem afraid," one source told THE STAR.
THE STAR understands that some of the residents from Anderson and Belgium Lane, just off Chisolm Avenue, have been packing up and moving out since the death of 27-year-old Jerome Ellis, also known as 'Blaze', who, it is rumoured, was allegedly killed by thugs from Maxfield Avenue.
Rumours circulating are that thugs from Maxfield Avenue and Chisolm Avenue have been at odds over the rifle.
When THE STAR visited the area yesterday, we saw children returning from school and people going about their normal business, however, we were informed that since last week's killing of Ellis, the area has been tense and people are either staying indoors or moving out of the community.
Last Monday, residents from the Kingston 13 area alerted the police after hearing explosions. Ellis' bullet-riddled body was found at his home. Detectives from the Hunts Bay Criminal Investigation Division are investigating the incident.
Deputy Superintendent Delroy Hewitt, head of the St Andrew South police, told THE STAR yesterday that; "I have no indication that the area is tense, I understand that due to the recent killing in the area the people might be apprehensive but if the area is tense, the people are keeping that to themselves," he said.
Another source who spoke to THE STAR said that the area leader is at the root of the problem. "A di man weh run di area cause dis rifle war. Him tek up a don style, it is a trick ting because dem same one a send fi yuh daughter," the source said.
"Most people afraid of him, because him intimidating and because of that yuh have women weh sleep with him, he cannot be tamed," the source said.
In the meantime, the residents are crying for peace and more police presence in the area. "We want back we youth club and we want di MP and di councillor to step in and give us some help," one resident said.
Residents say, 'them a send threat seh people a go dead.'