MIAMI — On his upcoming album "Before the Dawn," Jamaican reggae star Buju Banton crows about standing strong, though battered and bruised, in the face of a gathering darkness.
The songs sound prophetic – the four-time Grammy nominee recorded them before he was arrested on federal cocaine charges last December. The trial is scheduled to start Monday in Tampa – a week before the album's U.S. release. He faces a possible life sentence if convicted.
"I've been accused, wrongly convicted. Jah knows I'm innocent," he sings in his gravelly voice, invoking the Rastafarian God. "I've been badly singled out by beloved friends ... who sold me out."
THATS WHY MI NO TRUST FRIENDS!!! N BUJU SHUD A KNOW BETTER JAMAICA YO COME FROM!!! MI NAW SEH YO DWET BUT IF YOU DID YO NAW AFFI COZ ALREADY MEK IT IN DI MUSIC INDUSTRY THE SKY IS THE LIMIT BUT DO SOMETHING LEGAL YO CAN OPEN ALOT OF BUSINESS YO AVE DI MONEY R DO SOME REAL ESTATE!! BUT I HOPE GOD MEK A MIRACLE FI YO MI DON JAH KNOW ONE MORE GOOD UTH GET %$^ IN A BABYLON!!!!
dem charge di man for trafficking but yet dem seh dem have a video of him tasting a white substance, dat is not trafficking dem affi go try harder dan dat gwaan hold di faith buju.
u a lawyer yute
It sticky especially if dem have him on camera. All I know if he did it ...it wasn't a smart move. You're a well-known artist if you involve in the drug game you don't go make deals yourself you send someone to act on your behalf.