Centerstage with Wasp

marvin-Clarke-3.jpg
Wasp

Stage Name: Wasp

Birth Month: December

How did you get started in the business?

Wasp: It was one December, a little competition was keeping in my area and my cousin brought me there. Predator build a song and give mi, an tell mi fi go sing it and mi go sing it and buss di place. Mi freestyle another song an mi end up win di competition. From dat mi jus start write.

What has been your greatest challenge in the business yet?

Wasp: The greatest challenge is to get yuh song to play. Yuh can have a great storyline and a good song, but sometimes the politics in the game don't allow yuh di chance. We past that problem now suh wi nuh worry about that again.

What have you been up to lately?

Wasp: I just did the video for They Say/Nutten Nah Gwaan,. Apart from that it's mainly promotional work.

Do you look up to any specific artiste and why?

Wasp: Yeah man! Mi look up to Michael Jackson because anything him do it special; him put out the best everytime. Mi also look up to Bob Marley because he was a rebel with a cause. every song him do have a message behind it. Jay Z is another icon, his simplicity and his cool personality and the calm way him handle things.

Are you happy with the way things are going for your musical career right now?

Wasp: I'm more than happy right now. Two years ago when mi walk a Half Way Tree, nobody neva recognise mi, and now, mi can't even walk down di street. It's (my career) nowhere where I want it to reach, but right now mi love how it's been going.

Do you have any advice for young artistes coming up?

Wasp: Put the creator first and believe in yourself. If yuh don't have determination yuh can't do music.

Where do you see yourself in the future?

Wasp: I see myself at the level that Michael Jackson or Bob Marley was at. A man might feel like those are big shoes to fill, but music has no boundaries and I'm working hard to achieve it.