Canadian dance show features Vybz Kartel Popular 'Clarkes' Song

STARLEFT_1_PQU7CExplosiAM.jpg
Vybz Kartel - File

Popular dancehall song Clarkes is the latest local song to be featured on the popular show 'So You Think You Can Dance Canada'.

The song was released earlier this year and features deejays Vybz Kartel, Popcaan and Gaza Slim and was produced by ZJ Chrome.

'So You Think You Can Dance Canada' is a dance reality show and competition that airs on CTV hosted by Leah Miller and features judges and dance experts Jean Marc Genereux, Tré Armstrong, Luther Brown and Blake McGrath. Currently in its third season, two of the contestants recently blazed a dancehall routine to Clarkes, the video of which is making the rounds on popular social networking site Facebook.com.

Clarkes is the third dancehall song to be featured on the show, which has previously featured routines done to Click Mi Finga by Erup and produced by Truckback Records and Sean Paul's So Fine produced by Stephen McGregor.

When contacted Kartel told THE WEEKEND STAR he was approached via his publicist by the show to use the song. He, however, has not seen the episode. He said: "We took it up 'cause we know it was just more exposure for Vybz Kartel, more exposure for dancehall music yah know wha mean."

In the video from the show, the two dancers are seen practising with trainer Jae Blazer who humorously tried to get the two Canadians to say the signature phrase "wah gwaan Popcaan." Decked out in clarks, the two - a female contemporary dancer and a male hip-hop dancer, got rave reviews from the judges.

Judge Luther Brown said: "See these are the things that make me proud to be a Jamaican, yuh know proud to be a yaady. Yuh see dancehall people usually look at it like it's a freestyle form of dance, it's hard to put a routine together that still has the authentic feel, make the routine travel from one place to the next. It brought back so many feelings, half the crowd don't even know what the song says, he's talking about clarks which is the shoes. You go to the reggae club and you step on somebody's shoes, it's a problem."

Source: Jamaicastar.com