Amidst reports of an alleged altercation between popular sound system selector Boom Boom and dancehall deejay Blak Ryno.
The artiste has issued a statement distancing himself from the incident and allegations and it read.
It has been brought to my attention that Boom Boom was attacked by a group of men said to be aligned to me at the popular street dance Uptown Mondays, this is rather unfortunate.
Though I was at the event with a few friends on the day in question, it was only for a short period of time and I left the venue long before the melee unfolded and went straight home.
Contrary to rumours, there was absolutely no physical or verbal exchanges between me and Boom Boom. As for the men who allegedly attacked him, neither do I know them nor are they affiliated to me or my camp in any way.
Presently I am focused on rebuilding my career and making good music for the masses. Being involved in verbal or physical confrontation is not the direction I am looking to take my career.
In closing Blak Ryno whose given name is Romaine Anderson said fans can look out for a video soon and his new single Feel Like Sey on the Swaggy Swaggy Rhythm produced by G-Jay Production among other upcoming projects.
Posted by YardFlex at September 1, 2010 08:12 AM
Selecter Boom Boom says Rynos followers beat him
Dancehall selector Boom Boom, in a radio interview yesterday, accused members of deejay Blak Rynos entourage of beating him badly at Uptown Mondays this week.
According to Boom Boom, who said his injuries sent him to the hospital and has forced the cancellation of some of his shows scheduled for the rest of this week, he was attacked because he did not play a song Ryno had given him while at the popular dance.
Ryno send me a CD with a song, but I didnt get to play it and by the time the dance over and I was packing up some bwoy come over to me and start talk.
Then one of them jump me and everything just get nasty, Boom Bom said.
Taking the high road, he sent a message to Ryno, a former member of Vybz Kartels Portmore Empire, that everything was all right, he just wanted back his money that he had paid at the hospital.
The deejay lamented the loss of income as he was forced to cancel a number of engagements during this back-to-school season.
And a prep school me daughter go he added.
Meanwhile, Blak Ryno says he wasnt at the venue at the time of the incident and he heard about it via a telephone call.
He has apologized for the excesses of his fans and has said he will give back Boom Boom his hospital fe.
Me and Boob Boom a friend, Ryno stated.
Boom Boom Thrashed
How dem fi do BOOM BOOM DAT...?
All me can seh is selector work nuh easy yaah man.
What people ned fi understand is that when you see a selctor a play him already have an idea of what he will be playing, give him the chune b4 the night.
Imagine after dem ask boom boom fi play a one chune and him dont play it dem duss him.
Alliance selector Boom Boom, real name Marlon Wizard, was attacked and robbed early yesterday morning, after successfully closing off another session of the popular Uptown Mondays dance, at Savannah Plaza, Constant Spring Road.
The selector, who had to be rushed to the hospital, said that the assault was carried out by affiliates of singjay Blak Ryno; after a CD that was sent to be played by the Tell It To Dem artiste was not played.
"Mi did a play and mi si a youth come wid a CD an seh Ryno a beg mi fi play a song. Mi seh alright," Boom Boom said.
"Di dance did soon finish and mi did deh pan di sound top, about 20 yards from Harry Hype (mixing partner). Caw a di 'ramest' Uptown Mondays had ever been, from summer start. And at the end mi neva get fi play di song," he said.
He continued:"After everything done an sound pull dung, mi a talk wid Harry, Foota and Sadeke dem, and the same yute come back and seh Ryno seh him waa back di CD."
two girls
He then said that he returned the CD. The man that was accompanied by two girls told Boom Boom that they wanted to take a photo with him. He complied and proceeded outside to have the photos taken by a photographer.
"When mi a walk guh out deh, mi nuh si di photographer. Den di same yute tell mi seh Ryno a shout mi, an him deh ova di parking lot. Suh mi a walk wid dem a guh link Ryno. Mi an Ryno nuh have nutten, and di world know," he said.
Adding, "Mi naa pree seh me an nuh man in a vibes, caw if a suh mi alone naa guh walk. When mi a walk towards di parking lot, a one lick mi feel inna mi head back. From mi get di lick inna mi head back mi nuh memba nutten, mi just memba when dem a put mi inna di car an people a bawl," he said.
The selector said that it was when he regained consciousness, he was made aware of what had transpired.
"Mi si Sadeke dem an some oda people a bawl and when mi ask dem a wah, dem seh a beat di man dem just beat mi up dawg! A when mi feel mi face an look inna di mirror, mi realise seh mi face did swell up," he said.
Boom Boom says he was also robbed of US$630.00 (J$53,915) that was in his pocket. After the incident, he was rushed to the University Hospital of the West Indies where he was then treated and released.
"Mi nah preach nuh violence enuh, mi forgive him, and mi naa guh retaliate," Boom Boom told THE STAR. "Mi lef it to God, caz a God mi praise."
When THE STAR contacted Blak Ryno for a comment on the matter, his phones went straight to voicemail. However, his publicist, who is known as Shadow, spoke on his behalf, as the singjay was said to be in a recording session.
"Ryno said that yes he was at the venue with a couple of friends, but for a short period of time. After which, he left and went straight home," Shadow said.
"He said it was brought to his knowledge that he was involved in an altercation with Boom Boom, which he categorically denied."
"He said that he has been to events prior to this, where Boom Boom played his songs, so he had no reason to do anything of this nature," Shadow stated.
Boom Boom, however, says "mi waa di whole Jamaica know seh mi good an mi alright, mi just a tell Ryno seh mi a pray fi him, caw him need some prayer an him need fi read him Bible ... caw him a likkle yute weh mi check fa an rate. An me will still play him song dem as long as the people dem waa hear him song dem, caz a music mi seh."
-- Edited by jubalson on Wednesday 1st of September 2010 05:35:26 PM