Topic: Roque Santa Cruz: Manchester City Tried To Push Me To Lazio But I Will Now Fight For My Place

Roque Santa Cruz: Manchester City Tried To Push Me To Lazio But I Will Now Fight For My Place

Roque Santa Cruz has revealed Manchester City tried to transfer him to Lazio this summer, but they could not agree a deal with the Serie A club.

Santa Cruz, 28, struggled for form and fitness in his debut campaign at the club and scored just four goals in all competitions. With the arrival of Mario Balotelli and introduction of the new 25-man match day squads, the Paraguayan's place was removed to be under threat.

Speaking to Sky Sports News, Santa Cruz confirmed manager Roberto Mancini tried to off-load him in a loan deal to Lazio but the transfer could not be agreed

"Unfortunately, I heard from the manager that he wouldn't be counting on me this season just a week before [transfer window closed]. I tried to arrange a move, but in the end, the club was happy to keep me as they weren't happy with any offers that came through.

"Now, I am again looking forward to keep training and see if I can get any chances in the team.

"They didn't come to an agreement with the club [Lazio] on terms and I was just waiting to hear what was going on. It was basically too late to keep talking so that story is finished."

Santa Cruz was also linked with a reunion with former City and Blackburn Rovers manager Mark Hughes at Fulham. He declared he would "love" to play for the Welshman again.

"I'm very happy to play with him and if I got the chance, I would love to play again under him. Again, City was keen to keep me there and I will try to prove myself in training," the ex-Bayern Munich center forward added.

One high profile departure from Eastlands on transfer deadline day was Robinho to AC Milan. Santa Cruz was happy to see the Brazilian have his wish granted to leave after undergoing a "hard time" after completing his British record, £32.5 million transfer from Real Madrid two years ago.

He said: "I'm very happy for Robinho. He was having a hard time at City but he loves football and he had no chance to play in the team with the manager.

"It is a great move for him."

hmm CITY UNU LET MI DOWN A LOOSE TO SUNDERLANDpity DO BETTER MAN clap SANTA CRUZ GOOD LUCK UTElol