Topic: ‘We are not being held hostage!’ - Tivoli, Denham Town residents say they're free to leave

‘We are not being held hostage!’ - Tivoli, Denham Town residents say they're free to leave

HUNDREDS of angry residents from Tivoli Gardens and Denham Town are this morning insisting that, despite police information, they are not being held hostage in their communities.

A lie them a tell, said one woman who formed part of a large group of around 400 angry protesters who gathered in front of the Denham Town Police Station

hostage_w370.jpg

Tivoli Gardens and Denham Town residents protest outside the Denham Town Police Station this morning.

The action from the residents comes a day after police reports that residents were being held hostage inside Tivoli and Denham Town and that their phones had been confiscated.

"See it deh we can come out. A lie them a tell say we held hostage and them take way we phone. See we phone deh," said one woman before jumping over debris used to block one of the entrances to the area.

This morning, a Nationwide Radio report also carried quotes from a woman in the Tivoli Gardens community, who was heard saying that the residents were prepared to die for don Christopher Dudus Coke.

Meanwhile, reports from teachers in schools in the area are that the students who are doing exams have been allowed to leave to sit their exams. The Ministry of Education yesterday moved the exams from several schools in West Kingston to other centres amidst concerns about the violence in the area.

mz silent river
same ting......cant believe everything yuh hear!!!!!

hmm i tink yall are holdin urselves hostage

so a wah kind a mix up this ppl say dem a take weh phone and ppl say nothing no go so

weirdweirdweirdweird

the police a mek di situation sound dramatic.. and dem a use that as a excuse why fi start shoot people

So why are they protesting?

lmaolmaolmao @ UR COMMENTS

so dem seh

POLICE LIE TO R/\SSSSSSSSSSSSKLAAAAAATTTTTTT

follow-me-on-Twitter-com-as-I-follow-Christ.jpg

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
then again mayb resident a lie true dem nuh wha die

yea right

Well if them can leave, give them time to leave, if them don't leave when the ting start u just have to assume that they are willing to bust it too. anyting goes.

THEM AFFI COME SEY A LIE OR ELSE THEM AGO GET GUNSHOT OR THEM AFFI RUN WEH,A SO GHETTO RUN NUFF A DEM NO WANT DO IT BUT THEM AFFI OR ESLE IT NOT GOING TO BE PRETTY

di police dem a try build a case n reason fi mek dem attack...

-- Edited by DJ Kem on Thursday 20th of May 2010 02:48:18 PM

Flow Me On icon_facebook1.jpg icon_twitter1.jpg

dem can act no rhatid

dat dem seh??????