Topic: Jamaicans numb to murders- Chevannes

**MZ French Ambassador**

Jamaicans numb to murders- Chevannes

FiveYearoldKillingB20100504RM.jpg

Days after the throat of a five-year-old boy was slashed in Clarendon, Professor Barry Chevannes has said the country's crime problem is at a point where Jamaicans have become numbed.

"It's difficult to compare heartless acts, but the slashing of the throat of a five-year-old, what is that?" he questioned.

"The extraordinary has become the ordinary and we have become numb to it."

Speaking at a forum titled 'Portrayal of Crime in Media in Jamaica', Chevannes said murders are now "glamourised" in Jamaica.

He said it would be disingenuous to deny that the media contributed to this, arguing that "people are emboldened when they see the mayhem that is represented as what they did".

society's problem

Chevannes said he has heard reports of gunmen gathering before the television to watch news reports of a murder they committed the day before.

"I can't confirm this, but I would not be surprised if that was in fact confirmed," he said.

However, he made it clear that this is a problem of the society and not the media.

"Journalists are human beings in a society where lives are being snuffed out in the most horrendous ways," he lamented.

He also expressed agreement with The Gleaner's move to carry the most recent murder statistics on the front page.

"What The Gleaner is doing in keeping that clock ticking on the front page is more helpful than not," he said, noting that every murder is the loss of a human life worthy of attention.

nononosad

it is sad and very alarming how long we goin allow this uncontrolled *lo** letting continue before we seh enough we could end up being a statistic pity

bring back hanging

Jah Kno!!! this is really sad, absolute wickedness!!! dem need fi bring back hanging yes

angered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gif YYYYYYYYYYYYYY UNNO KILL HIMMMMMMMMM YY YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

**MZ French Ambassador**
steppz wrote:

angered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gifangered.gif YYYYYYYYYYYYYY UNNO KILL HIMMMMMMMMM YY YYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY

sigh u zeet steppz pity

DAMN

lklklklk they will ban me

BMA
:humm:

BM@ TUNE EVERYTHING IN DAYTIME   

u reap wa u sow

HE HAS A POINT

sad

tragic tragic fi real

Jah kno... dat sad but wha worse is dat we aggo jump up jump up likkle more to pure murder music... we really numb to *lo**c**t. SAD SAD SAD.

dark_law wrote:

u reap wa u sow

I know you not talking about the 5 year old right????

dappa75 wrote:

dark_law wrote:

u reap wa u sow

I know you not talking about the 5 year old right????

no jcans allow themselves to be numb to murder so sooner or later a 5 year old will get murdered with more to come