Topic: Shows gone up in ash

Shows gone up in ash

STARRIGHT_1_PHI72FullyLPK.jpgSTARRIGHT_1_PEIKXGrampsAM.jpgSTARRIGHT_1_POTCBdemarcAM.jpg
From left: file photos - Tony Matterhorn, Gramps Morgan and Demarco

Due to the ash clouds left after the volcanic eruption in Iceland, several entertainers have been unable to honour show dates because they are either stranded in Europe or are unable to go there as flights are unavailable.

Since the volcanic eruption in Iceland worsened last week, sending thick ash clouds into the skies, airlines in Europe have been suspending flights. Olivier Jankovec, director general of Airports Council International, in a statement said more than 6.8 million passengers have been affected. Several Jamaican entertainers are included in that group.

Popular selector-deejay Tony Matterhorn has been in the United Kingdom for the past few weeks and was scheduled to leave yesterday, but has been unable to.

"A today (Monday) mi fi leave but mi flight cancel till May 3. Right now, mi just deh yah a wait and see if dem ago free up tomorrow," he told THE STAR when contacted yesterday.

He said he was booked for a show in Chicago in the United States of America this weekend. However, he said he might stay in the country if he cannot get a flight to leave soon, as he has more shows scheduled there for late April to early May.

Tony Matterhorn is not the only entertainer stuck in Europe. Gramps Morgan communicated his dilemma via the social networking website, Twitter, last Friday.

"Hey everyone, I will be missing my show at Strawberry Hill tomorrow, in Jamaica, because of the volcano in Iceland. I'm stuck in London," he wrote.

Dancehall artiste Demarco was also gearing up to leave on Saturday for a tour that was scheduled to begin in Europe on Sunday. However, he decided to cancel his tour because of the current flight disturbance.

"A God mek mi put off my tour. Mi ting nuh deh a Europe right now. I put off the tour because of the volcano thing, and I don't know when it will be safe for people to fly again. When it is safe I will go," he said.

In the meantime, Demarco said he would be doing shows elsewhere that he got offers for and "it will give me time to do other stuff, like work on my album that is supposed to come out by June or July," he said, noting that the album would be called I Am Not Perfect.

Sharon Burke, head of Solid Agency that also does bookings for Demarco, said, "I don't know of anybody else just yet. Shaggy was supposed to go to Europe next week, but I think he is still going."

Meanwhile, Carlette DeLeon of Headline Entertainment said none of the artistes on her roster have been affected since the volcanic eruptions.

"We haven't been affected, thus far. If the eruptions continue we will have concerns. We are watching the situation closely," she told THE STAR.

hmmhmmhmm

that f**K up

Work from home 

www.sfippa.com/11697183/real

http://www.protypers.com/?id=38VG

so it go