The government of the sister island of St Lucia yesterday communicated its decision to ban dancehall deejay Adidja 'Vybz Kartel' Palmer from performing in that Caribbean territory.
In response to news of the ban, Kartel called the situation "unfortunate". According to a statement from his publicist, Vybz Kartel would be working "rectify the situation as quickly as possible" so he could regain access to this market.
The deejay's camp said they were concerned for the promoter, who had undoubtedly spent "quite a bit of money to promote the event".
The performance in St Lucia, scheduled to take place at the end of the month had reportedly been attracting much negative attention.
According to one paper, a local radio station had contracted Kartel, along with Lady Saw, Lisa Hyper and other Jamaican acts to host a show scheduled for April 30 and May 1.
The much publicised performance had created heated public debate, particularly as Vybz Kartel had been banned from performing in a number of islands including Guyana, Grenada and most recently Barbados.
I TELL U ALREADY THIS GUY IS MESSING UP DANCEHALL. WHEN U EVA HEAR SO MUCH ARTIST AH GET BAN IN HISTORY??? EVA SINCE THIS GUY START GRUDGE MAVADO AND GWAAN WIT HIM FREAKY WAYS DANCEHALL GET A BAD REP.
real fool u think its only kartel...... bounty & movado also ban from them islands
is also ban from some caribbean islands , bout the man messing up dancehalll u can tell what side u on
if kartel know whats good for him , he should stay in ja becuz st.lucia & st.vincent are very close & we all know he had some problems with showin up for shows , and bwouy if he love his life its best he stay home
That things crazy, they saying he to violent and thing, but the thing is music is music, its a reflections of things going on in the world. But he was here last year and performed, Dem people MADDDD!!!!
Me ave fambily in lucia....and Me live deh for a while....I can tell you Kartel was banned from Their because of alot of reasons....D Gaza Gully ting still separate D place and Vinci man still affa him.....Dat is too much controversy fi d likkle island.....right now if dem let Kartel perform, now one knows wat to expect....you might even find him in a box back in JA affa his last no show too.....some thugs nah go stop till certain man out
he performed last year but remember that was early in the year......The Gaza Gully feud got worst to D point weh d jamaican government had to step in.....right now D gaza gully ting still stong in other countries weh doh know what really ah gwan....So this is the govenment stepping in and saying no to it......Plus remember after he performed he did a NO SHOW....they sent a private plane to chatter him over which he requested and he still did not show......He did not even provide a valid reason for not showing......Thats another issue.....He probably is being punished for that.....and him make his bed so dat ah fi him own bisniss
no it will just send a message to all the artiste who take the promoters money and not show up to the shows.....If was bounty or movado dweet me would agree same way.....Do you imagine how much problems the promoters have when their is a no show?? Refunding tickets....losses for promoting an event that cannot take place......Disapointed patrons.....they lose their reputation.....these are all the things that happen.....Kartel was well known for numerous no shows from Guyana up to Jamaica.....Nobody should have to deal with these businiss malpractices.....The government is basically protecting the interests of their business men.....I agree with it totally and think this message should be sent out to all Artiste who dont show for events they are booked for without a proper reason for not showing.