A war seems to be brewing between two Mountain View communities after the refusal of one of them to return guns they borrowed from the other.
The east Kingston communities are now gripped with tension after thugs from Goodridge Lane are said to have tricked their counterparts from 'Vegas' (top Jacques Road) into lending them guns and now will not return them.
The thugs from the communities were once bitter enemies but THE WEEKEND STAR has learnt that in recent times peace was brokered and there were even offers made between the sides to help each other in war.
However all hell might erupt now following an incident recently in which a number of guns, including several high-powered rifles, were sent from Vegas to the men in Goodridge Lane for additional firepower in a battle with men from Back Bush, a community also in Mountain View.
requested anonymity
It was later revealed to the Vegas thugs. However, that it was all a trick and the guns would not be returned.
"A style di bwoy dem style yu nuh see dat mi general and we and dem neva have no bad vibes ... In a case like dis wa yu expect ago happen? Yu nuh see seh a some hypocrite ting dem a deal wid," reasoned Jing-Bang, from Vegas who requested anonymity.
When THE WEEKEND STAR contacted the men from Goodridge Lane they said that the men from Vegas are hiding the truth about why the guns were not returned.
"A dat dem a tell unnu well we nuh have nuttin fi say ... Gwaan go ask dem why wi a hold on pon di machine dem," one thug said.
In the meantime the men from Vegas claim that they will stop at nothing until their weapons are returned.
When THE WEEKEND STAR contacted Superintendent Michael Bailey, head of the Kingston east division, he said that the police were aware of the long-time feud between men from the communities.
Superintendent Bailey was however, tight-lipped when asked of the new happenings between the communities. "I can't help you with that one," he simply said.
Other sources from the division, however, admitted to hearing of such a case and added that the police are maintaining a strong presence in the areas.
"We have heard the talks but we really don't care about their personal differences ... We want to keep things in order and we want to get those who are involved in criminal activities ... We are maintaining a strong presence in the whole Mountain View area," an inspector from the division said as he made reference to the February 19 incident where police personnel seized 412 rounds of assorted ammunition in the Back Bush area of Mountain View. Army fatigue, a ballistic vest and 300 sticks of ganja were also seized at a premises in the community.