Cassava Piece-based selector Foota Hype said he had his identity cloned on the Internet through popular social networking website Facebook.
Foota Hype told THE STAR that he has been receiving phone calls from disgruntled individuals, who demanded an explanation for various posts and messages that have been sent via the fake profile.
"I have received calls from foreign, weh people a ask me bout how mi a look dem woman pan Facebook, people calling me bout how must I be putting disrespectful comments about dem on my Facebook page, which I have no idea about because I have no Facebook profile," he told THE STAR.
Foota Hype,who became popular as a sound-system selector at the weekly Uptown Mondays session, is urging the public not to conduct any form of business with the person via Facebook as he does not have a Facebook profile nor does he know who the impersonator is.
"I am letting Jamaica and the world know that they should not conduct any business at all with this person on Facebook because I don't have a Facebook page and I never had one, and I don't even know who the person using this profile is. I only have a MySpace profile," he explained.
"I did business with a lady from England and she told me that she had left messages on my Facebook page and that I was also responding to them. So this profile is becoming a problem," Foota said. "Time hard and nobody nuh waan dash weh dem money, so I don't want people to send this person dem money to book me and when I don't show up it causes problem."
Foota Hype is not the only victim of this form of Internet scam as Twin of Twins and Laden both suffered a similar fate. In two separate stories published in this newspaper late last year, the entertainers said that persons were collecting money for shows and dub plates for them via their MySpace page without their consent.
Foota Hype told THE STAR that there has not been any major damage as yet but urged the perpetrators to remove the fake profile.
"The name Foota Hype is copyrighted and I am asking who eva is responsible for the profile to take it down before I am forced to take legal actions," Foota warned.