Topic: Residents say they are being unfairly targeted by the police

Residents say they are being unfairly targeted by the police

STARRIGHT_1_PFZRADamageAM.jpg
A room which residents say was ransacked and the furniture damaged by the police yesterday. - Norman Grindley

Residents of Fitzgerald Avenue off Maxfield Avenue in St Andrew, say they are being unfairly targeted by the police.

Yesterday, when THE STAR visited the community, residents were quick to voice their opinion, claiming a group of policemen have been making their lives rather uncomfortable for no apparent reason.

'terrorise wi'

"Nuttin naw gwaan roun ya so and dem jus a terrorise wi suh," one resident said. "Dem come roun ya and dem mash up di yute dem place, dem beat up di yute dem fi nuttin ... a gunman dem fi go look fah."

Resident said police yesterday kicked in the door to a young man's room and continued to thrash it, damaging his furniture and other personal belongings before even leaving with the man's cellphone.

Head of St Andrew South, Superintendent Delroy Hewitt, could not be reached for comment yesterday, however, an inspector from the division urged the residents to visit the police station and report their complaints.

Golden-ager Shirley Wright claims the cops damaged part of her bathroom and her 41-year-old enamel bath pan.

"Dat bath pan is as old as my last child and my last child is 41 ... I was planning on giving it to my great -grandchildren but it go mash up now," an obviously upset Wright said.

Incidents such as these the residents said, have become irritatingly frequent in the community.

According to them there is one particular cop who is the source of their discomfort.

keep the peace

"Di way di man out fi we him get transfer and come back wa day ya ... When him come roun ya afta dem transfer him back, di man see we and seh, 'Guess who's back'," a resident recalled.

The residents are especially furious since they have been trying their best to keep the peace within their community.

"No war or no bad vibes naw gwaan pon Fitzgerald Avenue but wi surrounded by it ... Everywhere else inna di area a war or inna some tension," another resident said, noting they have gone as far as to try and host a weekly event dubbed 'Peaceful Fridaze'.

yeah

Nah stop bunn Babylon.. FIRE