Fast-rising star Konshens has signed on as the new face of Mackeson Stout for the next two years.
When The STAR spoke to the deejay recently he explained that he signed a regional endorsement deal with Mackeson, which entails doing advertisements, billboards and other branding as well as being a spokesperson. The ads that Konshens will be doing will be seen throughout Belize, Barbados, Guyana, Trinidad, St Kitts and Jamaica.
personality fit
"I did a couple of TV and radio ads for them last year and the response they got was good. My personality kinda fit well with their product and the direction they are going with it, so they contacted me to take it to another level, and my people and I thought it was a good look."
Sara Noel, regional export manager, Carib Brewery, said, "I am extremely proud and excited about the partnership between Mackeson and Konshens. He depicts the style and personality of a 'Mackeson Man'. I am very much looking forward to working with him across the region."
According to the artiste, an endorsement deal is good as a main part of being an artiste is the ability to 'sell' a product. He said, "this gives me an opportunity to grow in that area. I'm gonna be doing a series of charity events across the island and Mackeson will definitely be on board. The first one I have in mind is the upgrading of a youth club and after-school homework programme that some friends of mine started in Arnett Gardens. I went and saw it for myself and fell in love with the idea so you can look for that in coming weeks."
Konshens recently released the video for his song, Realest Song, which has been gaining a lot of attention in recent weeks. In the meantime, he said he is working on developing his label, SubKonshus Music, as well as putting power behind the careers of his brother Delus and deejay newcomer Darrio.
He added, "we're promoting Darrio's track, Eat Food, on the 'Bomb Drop' rhythm for Russian, and Delus' single on my label, Mek Dem Sorry, are gonna blow up soon. I'm working on the album and loads of singles, nuff shows and dem ting caw yuh know me haffi keep moving."