Topic: STAR grants boy's last wish

STAR grants boy's last wish

STARLEFT_1_PMFFSPatientAM.jpg
Cancer patient Gary Buchanan, 18, talks with Prime Minister Bruce Golding at the National Chest Hospital yesterday. - Ricardo Makyn

What could be the last wish of 19-year-old cancer patient Gary Buchanan was fulfilled yesterday when he was visited in hospital by Prime Minister Bruce Golding.

The youngster, whose sad story was first highlighted in THE STAR last July, had asked to meet the prime minister when THE STAR offered to grant him the opportunity to meet anyone of his choice last week. Less than a week later, it became a reality.

Prime Minister Golding and the Minister of Health, Rudyard Spencer, as well as other officials, gathered by Buchanan's bedside at the National Chest Hospital to offer kind words and to reassure him that they would do all that they could to help his fight.

The prime minister asked the youngster about school, his family, as well as general questions about his condition and how he was feeling. The youngster, who at one point, asked for his oxygen, was visibly touched by the visit and when Golding assured him that he would do all he could to help, and urged him to stay strong, his eyes filled with tears.

The prime minister said to him, "I know it must be tough, especially for a young man that was looking forward to a long, healthy life."

duty

After the meeting, Golding told THE STAR, "I felt I had a duty to be here and whatever way we can help, whatever we can arrange to give him some comfort, we are going to." He also assured the teen that he would be back to see him again.

Buchanan was diagnosed with cancer almost a year ago and was forced to amputate his lower arm after a cancerous lump was discovered there. Now, a few months later, the cancer has spread and doctors think his prognosis looks grim.

A surgical doctor at the hospital said a biopsy needs to be done before he can get treated, but in order for this to be done, he needs a tracheal stent, so he will be to able to rest on his back. He cannot do so now, as he will not be able to breathe. The stent is not available locally, but Golding has promised to help in acquiring it.

Buchanan was grateful and simply said, "I feel great."

OK.....

CRAZY 5 ENT RADIOSHOW VOL 3
DJ UP 2 D TIME & KOBE 5
http://www.mediafire.com/?o1nytxyw3mm
GO GET IT !!!
CHECK OUT VOL 1 & 1+1
VOL 1
http://www.mediafire.com/?zm0ytetkkld
VOL 1+1
http://www.mediafire.com/?ednyjmw5qea