Singer Kym, formerly known as Gaza Kim, has officially ended her management contract with Adidjaheim Records.
A release sent yesterday by Kym's publicist, Ricardo Smith, stated that she wishes her former management team the best in their endeavours as she moves on to pursue her own career. In the release, Kym said, "Over the last eight to nine months, my career was managed by Adidjaheim Records. The Management contract has been terminated and I'm now pursuing independently my career."
She added, "I'm now focusing on driving my career and past events in my life have only made me stronger and more driven to achieving success."
Kym, real name Kim Hamilton, left the Vybz Kartel-led Portmore Empire a few weeks ago after reportedly being beaten in the 'Big Yard', a community off Mannings Hill Road, St Andrew. Kym was reportedly severely beaten and had to seek medical attention. In a previous story published in The STAR, sources close to the Empire claimed that the beating was ordered by Kartel. The deejay, however, denied any involvement in the incident.
Since then, the teenage singer has officially changed her name from Gaza Kim and has released the song Leave Mi Nuh. Gaza Kim became a member of the Empire in late 2009 and released songs such as Twice My Age with Kartel, Bills with another ex-Empire member Lisa Hyper, and Faithful with Sheba.
'I'm now focusing on driving my career and past events in my life have only made me stronger and more driven to achieving success.'