Popular deejay Mavado was yesterday cautioned by the police after residents of the 'Gully side', also known as Cassava Piece in St Andrew, protested against the postponement of his birthday bash.
A number of residents and fans yesterday took to the streets with placards and staged a demonstration expressing their disapproval of the police's decision.
Crime Chief for the St Andrew North police, Deputy Superintendent Altermoth 'Parro' Campbell told THE WEEKEND STAR, he warned Mavado to ensure that he was not instigating the demonstration.
"I took him to my office and had a word with him ... I told him we will not have it in this division," DSP Campbell said, noting that the deejay distanced himself from the incident.
mounted debris
The demonstration led to the arrest of four men, two of whom were described as 'ring leaders', who mounted debris in the roadway.
DSP Campbell said they are to be charged with breaches of the Solid Waste Management Act and Littering Act.
The deejay, born David Brooks, had plans of celebrating his annual birthday bash this Saturday at the Temple Hall Estate, St Andrew, but police chose not to grant a permit, citing security concerns. Police sent a letter to the artiste explaining why the permit was not issued.
The residents are begging the police to reconsider their decision.
"Oh gosh man, dis woulda be one a di best and biggest show fi di year and a we di people it would a help cause di Gully Gad naw lef wi out," 24-year-old Sherine, said.
"Wi nuh like dat star, nuh violence could a neva gwaan cause is a gully celebration suh a pure gully people would a present and gully naw go war gully," Gringo, another resident explained.