Topic: DJ Squingy of Bass Odyssey fights for his life **Prayers,Support Needed**

DJ Squingy of Bass Odyssey fights for his life **Prayers,Support Needed**

Krista Henry, Staff Reporter

squingy.jpg

DJ Squingy - Contributed

DJ Squingy of Bass Odyssey is currently in the hospital in Florida where he is being treated for a terminal illness.

When THE STAR spoke to Richard 'DJ Kirky C' Salmon of Poison Dart Sound, long time friend of Squingy, he admitted that the disc jock was admitted to the Tampa General Hospital in Florida on Sunday. According to Kirky C, Squingy has been in Florida for the last two weeks battling with a terminal illness that he has had for years.

Kirky C said, "he's really sick, he's been in Intensive Care at the hospital since Sunday, they say he will be coming out tomorrow (today) to the general area of the hospital. Him can talk and thing but he isn't (talking), which is strange cause Squingy love talk. One of his foot is big like an elephant foot and the other is fine, they have him on a lot of drugs so he isn't in pain."

five years ago

According to Kirky C, Squingy has been ill for years but Kirky C only found out about the illness five years ago. Since then he has been caring for his disc jock friend on and off. Recently he convinced Squingy that he needed monetary help to get him a nurse and for his medication. With Squingy's consent they sent out a press release asking people to help.

In the release Squingy, real name Kevin Bennett, who has been a disc jock for over 20 years said, "for years I've been travelling and entertaining the world. I've given everything to my fans and neglected my own body. I have a terminal illness and it's time for me to focus on maintaining my health as best I can. Moving to the US is going to allow me to receive adequate health care."

Squingy with the help of Kirky C started a 'Squingy Fund Raiser' and is asking for assistance from the dancehall community. "Right now is a see-saw cause if dem release him we're gonna need the help. I've been taking care of him for years, me and my family cannot care for him alone, he needs a nurse and medicine. Right now we don't know what's gonna happen, they say he's the only patient in intensive care who's not on life support but a nurse here told me since night that if he leaves the hospital alive its a miracle" Kirky C said.

Kirky C says he has reached out to persons in the entertainment fraternity who have pledged their support and if Squingy leaves the hospital, will start full force in raising funds for him. According to the release Kirky C and Poison Dart Sound along with Jazzy T from Renaissance Sound, Bobby Chin from Black Chiney, Father Tek from Tek 9 Movements, Unitec Promotions and DancehallReggae.com are organizing several dates across the United States, including Atlanta, New York and Florida, to salute Squingy. All proceeds will go to the DJ.

All donations to the fund can be made to the following account:

Bank of America,

Tampa, Florida

Name of account: Lando1971

PAYPAL DONATIONS: helpsquingy@gmail.com

Account#: 229026055991

For more information please contact Kirky-C by email: djkirkyc@gmail.com

-- Edited by +0p$h0++@ (Mod) on Monday 23rd of November 2009 11:19:56 AM

ok hmm

hope him get better soon

blessings

If u wanna be the best, do ur best

me praying for me dj .......get well soon me dan

THE GHETTO CELEBRITY DJ ICE KOLE

MADD SKWAD 2 D WERL

no disrespect still but hiv a serious thing.. use boots star

ZEEN, BIG UP SQUINGY STILL

iqk6l2.jpg

large up squingy get well soon me dads

l_e44255a064bd36623355d503262dfb78.jpg

TERMINAL ILLNESS ?? HMMM IT NUH HAVE NAME ???

heard that he got "BIG A"

DHR orginal post

MI CRY...

RIP SQUINGY

soooooooooooo saddddddddddddd!!!!!!!! squingy a youth come like him a the best of both worlds mc and selector.one of the few mc that even when the sound behind he can bring them up like human he was for example in the the uk cup clash when he said the bad word it cause him.lol......... when he return the next year he showed the japs that he is the man.........the biltmore reunion clash aginst lp earth ruler, he played they sound with nothing but orginal dub work.........if you have squingy material post cause i am gonna digg in my cases and show the world that him a h the bosssssssss!!!!!!!

God bless Squingy's soul... He was one of the people responsible for me getting in the sound business... He will surely be missed.

R.I.P