Topic: Them stop Beenie Man touring Austrlaia & New Zealand because of lyric against gays.

MZJAustralia

Them stop Beenie Man touring Austrlaia & New Zealand because of lyric against gays.

Beenie Man has been anounced to Tour Australia & New Zealand in January 2010 as part of the annual Big Day Out Festival.

The gay people of Auckland, New Zealand were the firt to complain & start this page on facebook:

http://www.facebook.com/group.php?gid=172036017414&ref=search&sid=100000283416709.722904812..1

Beenie Man playing Big Day Out means that organisers & officials condone his lyrics & opinions about the gay & lesbian community. New Zealanders should not tolerate this! The Civil Union Act, which allows for the legal recognition of same-sex couples, was passed into law in New Zealand on December 9th 2004. Letting Beenie Man play in our country is not right!!

Many people joining the group are suggesting physical backlash to Beenie Man. I would like to say that we are encouraging peaceful protest and petitioning/voicing of opinions & we distance ourselves from any physical violence or threats made towards Beenie Man.

they link to this article at http://www.gaynz.com/articles/publish/2/article_8144.php

Anti-gay reggae singer gets Big Day Out invite

Posted in: New Zealand Daily News
By GayNZ.com Daily News Staff - 11th November 2009

A reggae singer notorious for lyrics which incite the murder of gay people has been invited to perform at Auckland's Big Day Out music festival in January.

Inciting hatred: Beenie Man Beenie Man, from Kingston, Jamaica, was frequently under fire with gay activists for lyrics such as "I'm dreaming of a new Jamaica, come to execute all the gays," and had elsewhere sung about wanting to cut the throats of all gay men, killing gay DJs, and hanging lesbians.

The lyrics to his song Bad Man Chi Chi Man (Bad Man, Queer Man) say in Jamaican dialect: "If yuh nuh chi chi (queer) man wave yuh right hand and (NO!!!)/If yuh nuh lesbian wave yuh right hand and (NO!!)/Some bwoy will go a jail fi kill man tun bad man chi chi man!!"

His hateful songs meant Beenie Man was excluded from the 2004 MTV Video Music Awards and even turned away from England the same year.

He later issued an apology: "While my lyrics are very personal, I do not write them with the intent of purposefully hurting or maligning others, and I offer my sincerest apologies to those who might have been offended, threatened or hurt by my songs."

In 2007, among several other top reggae stars, he was reported to have signed a 'Reggae Compassionate Act' to renounce homophobia and 'Stop Murder Music'.

But he subsequently told the Jamaica Observer he had not signed the deal, and could not promise to abide by it. "We don't need it. We don't need to kill dem. We just need fi tell the people dem the right ting because I not supporting a gay lifestyle because it's not wholesome to me."

Auckland's Big Day Out, on Friday 15 January will include bisexual electronic musician Peaches, Lilly Allen, Muse, DJ Sasha, Ladyhawke, Minuit, Groove Armada, Calvin Harris and Simian Mobile Disco.

-----

I haven't seen anything about it in the Australia media yet but it's only a matter of time.

-- Edited by Major Krazy on Saturday 14th of November 2009 02:43:18 AM

RE: They try and stop Beenie Man performing in Aukland New Zealand

DAT A GWAAN

iqk6l2.jpg

MZJAustralia
http://www.bigdayout.com/news/pressrelease...essReleaseId=52

-- Edited by Major Krazy on Saturday 14th of November 2009 02:40:30 AM

RE: Them stop Beenie Man touring Austrlaia & New Zealand because of lyric against gays.

so wha dem a do represent Gay man now, this thing gettin out a hand!!!

UHM.....B....Y DEM

CRAZY 5 ENT RADIOSHOW VOL 3
DJ UP 2 D TIME & KOBE 5
http://www.mediafire.com/?o1nytxyw3mm
GO GET IT !!!
CHECK OUT VOL 1 & 1+1
VOL 1
http://www.mediafire.com/?zm0ytetkkld
VOL 1+1
http://www.mediafire.com/?ednyjmw5qea
BLESS
it nerves, ****ing gay man, they should leave reggae music alone and start recognize, that they are THE REAL PROBLEM. BURN THEM

I read so many ****ed up comments about this on facebook & other articles.

"I don't want to give my money to a homophobic ****wit" was roughly what one person had to say.

Nuff of them argue with me about Leviticus & bible, etc

Someone didn't want to be at the same festival as an artist she new that even if he wasn't singing about it, he was thinking it! (about killing gays)... weird WFT???

-- Edited by Major Krazy on Saturday 14th of November 2009 06:20:10 AM

IN THE LAST SIZZLA EUROPEAN TOUR (NOWDAYS),
BABYLON UNDA PRESSURE BY *****MAN AH CANCELLED 2/3 DATES IN ITALY !!

GAY COMMUNITY COMPLAINT, EVEN IF THE DEAL ANTI-OMOPHOBIC LYRIC WERE SIGNED BY
SIZZLA!!
, DEM NOT ALLOWED HIM TO PERFORM !!

dUNNO WHY IN SUM CITY LIKE AMSTERDAM WERE ONE OF THE BIGGEST *****MAN COMUNITY LIVING, DEM LET HIM TO PERFORME.
MAYBE COZ IN HOLLAND THEY KNOW WT TOLLERANCE MEAN !
LIVE & LET LIVE
HOLLAND FI DIS IS THE BEST !!!
DEM JUST MEK SURE HE RESPECT THE SIGNED DEAL !
AND THAT'S IT
NO BAN NO CENSOR IN HOLLAND

BUJU PERFORMED IN FRISCO, AND THERE ARE THOUSAND CHI CHI MAN LIVING DER BUT
DEM LET HIM PLAY.
I KNOW HE ALSO HAD A MEETING WITH THE LEADER OF GAY COMUNITY IN FRISCO.
DEM NOT JUST BANNED HIM WITHOUT LISTENING WT BUJU HAVE 2 SEH 'BOUT THAT.

FOR THOSE DUNNO WHY RASTA AND JAMAICANS DO NOT CONSIDER GAY AND LESBIAN READ THE BIBLE, THE PASSAGE  TALIKING 'BOUT DAT IS  
SODOMA & GOMORRAH .

-- Edited by cristy on Saturday 14th of November 2009 05:01:51 AM

-- Edited by cristy on Saturday 14th of November 2009 05:06:24 AM

-- Edited by cristy on Saturday 14th of November 2009 05:09:53 AM

-- Edited by cristy on Saturday 14th of November 2009 01:22:25 PM

NEGRIL MARCH 2KMINE
CRAZY SUNSPLASH!!
me nah know why dem hate beenie for
ah him say him ago make love to man inna rush looool
and him say ***** mun run d werl
so dem shoulda embrace him and d rest of dem gaza @#$ and drag
fire fi bun pon dem *****mun sooner dan later

The gays would really love Mafo and his gay sig.... lol....

Jamaican artist must stop singing songs about killing gays, what we must do is to sing song telling those gay guys that the things that they are doing is wrong, they can't harm us that way because that's not murder musics, it's teaching person to do the right thing, god never make two man,He make a male and a female! penis and Vagina!

Dj Wildaz

nuffest crew 4 life
I can't give gay rights! Man to Man is Wrong! Wrong! Wrong!fd

Dj Wildaz

Mediazone Badman wrote:

The gays would really love Mafo and his gay sig.... lol....

hahaha it seem D sig catch ur eye everytime....Mediazone Ba.tt.yMan  looool

MZJAustralia

At least they gave Beenie Man the chance to reply...

'Heartbroken' Beenie Man: "I don't condone violence"

Posted in: New Zealand Daily News
By GayNZ.com Daily News Staff - 17th November 2009

The Jamaican reggae artist whose upcoming Big Day Out appearances in NZ and Australia were cancelled following a storm of outrage over his homophobic lyrics now tells GayNZ.com he has apologised for his lyrics which have been "misunderstood", and adds that he'd never want to hurt anyone regardless of their sexual orientation.

'One love': Beenie Man In an email received this afternoon titled 'I Do Not Condone Act Of Violence Toward Others', Beenie Man, aka Moses Davis, claims he has not gone back on promises he made in 2007 when he signed the 'Reggae Compassionate Act' designed to promote peaceful and humanistic values in music.

"I was actually traveling and recently learned about what was happening in New Zealand and was heartbroken at the misunderstandings," he says.

"We live in a diverse society, the haves, have-nots, Muslims, Christians, Jews, Buddhists, Atheists, light and dark skinned, homosexuals and heterosexuals. At times we wrongly ridicule each other for beliefs. One thing we have in common, we are all human beings and should strive for peace, equality and love. I want my music to bring people together and for them to dance, feel good and enjoy it."

'MISUNDERSTANDINGS'

Beenie Man also claims he has made "numerous announcements regarding violence against gays, most recently in Spain."

"People sometimes may misunderstand my lyrics because of slang, metaphors, jargons and dialect; it is not intended to be harmful," the singer continues.

"In the past I offended others with offensive lyrics, I apologised then and now, I never took back my word. Our world is an interesting place filled with variety and we all have to respect others no matter what race, choices, culture or lifestyle.

"I am not a supporter of hatred and never was. The press sometimes exaggerate and it's hard to defend oneself, as I am one man, the magnitude of the hurt may have cut too deep and people feed into the negative.

"In the entertainment industry we have people with different sexual preferences, I would never seek to hurt or treat them differently. I travel the world and grow with the changes and have learned not to judge people's way of life.

'OLDER AND WISER'

beenie-man_3.jpg
Recalling lyrics such as "I'm dreaming of a new Jamaica, come to execute all the gays," GayNZ.com replied to Beenie Man asking what had changed since he performed those songs.

"I wrote the lyrics at a point in my life when I younger and was seeing a lot of exploitation of poor and defenseless young boys in the garrison - where I too was born - by rich men," he responded.

"When I wrote the lyrics boys were raped and murdered often - even recently a nine-year-old went to buy cigarettes for a man, came back and was raped and murdered. The act of sodomy was my concern when I wrote the song.

"I realize that those men were not gays but were predators or paedophile which is not a common word in my dialect hence the perception when generalising. I am older and realised the difference after," he admits.

"I have worked with gays and lesbians on videos and photo shoots and they have done great. I do not sing or perform any of those songs nor promote any violence on stage. I have been performing all over the world and there hasn't been any issues of recent.

"I realize that I have never been to your country and what was old forgotten news in which I have apologised, is now new news because of me coming and now it's your turn for an apology. I am a music ambassador for the world and the last thing I would want to do is spread hate or violence towards others."

He concludes with a message for New Zealand and Australia: "Please know that I am sincere and right now I am proposing peace, one world... One Love regardless of race, religion, sexual orientation and nationality."

http://www.gaynz.com/articles/publish/2/article_8179.php