feature interview with Gaza Kim - just yesterday, we had the chance to fire a few quick questions at the Portmore Empires young rising female star, Gaza Kim. Her responses to our questions are detailed below.
1) Who is Gaza Kim? Kim Hamilton a nice, intelligent, outgoing person who graduated from Ascot High School a couple years ago.
2) Its said that Kartel discovered you. How did that happen? I was visiting all the studios regularly, but nothing was happening for me. So I gave Vybz Kartels girlfriend Shortie my CD to give him. She gave it to him, and he loved my voice and took me to the studio almost immediately to record a song. That first song hasnt been released yet, but the second one was Teenage Pregnancy which was released in July of this year.
3) How did you get the name? I used to call myself Lady Bling, but Vybz Kartel simply added the Gaza brand to my first name and now I am Gaza Kim. 4) In terms of role models and people in your industry that you admire who are they and why? Tanya Stephens because she talks the truth; Lady Saw and of course Vybz Kartel.
5) We heard Teenage Pregnancy, Amen and a couple other songs of yours what else have you been up to? Mostly recording other new songs that will be on the road soon.
6) Do you write your own song lyrics? I have songs that Ive written, but all my recorded songs were written by Vybz Kartel.
7) Whats a typical day like for you nowadays? Mostly spending time in the studios and parties and dances when the come.
8 ) Whats the most important lesson that youve learned so far with regard to Jamaicas music industry? Write good songs that people can and will want to sing along to.
9) How have your old friends and classmates reacted to your new found success and growing popularity? Everybodys been happy for me thankfully no bad-mind or anything like that yet. Up to this morning an old friend came by my house just to say hi and she was so happy for me. 10) How has the Internet helped or not helped your career? Do you use it at all? I dont use it much now, but I understand its reach and power.
11) Who currently manages you? Vybz Kartel manages me.
12) What are some of your goals for the next year or so? By next year this time, I hope to be well-established like fellow Portmore Empire artistes Jah Vinchi and Blak Ryno. Hopefully Ill have quite a few hit songs by then.
13) Where do you see yourself in the next 3 to 5 years With hit songs that are heading towards Michael Jacksons level.
-- Edited by +0p$h0++@ (Mod) on Thursday 24th of September 2009 04:13:24 PM
LOL SHE WAH DEH PON JAH VINCHI DEM LEVEL AND THINK SHE CAN REACH MJ STATUS MY GIRL JAH VINCHI DEM HAVE BOUT 3 IF SO MUCH HITS BETWEEN DI FEW A DEM ANYWAY 1 TING U MEK ME KNOW IS BLEACHA ALSO WRITE WOMAN TUNE IM HAV WOMAN FEELINGS LOL