Bounty: Well I grew up around di music, I've been exposed to it from a tender age. I used to go to street dances and my father used to have a likkle sound and I'm related to John Wayne. I think it's in my *la*hd. I recorded my first song when I was a big man bout 20, 21 but I've been messing round di music since 'bout 8 or 9 year old, holding the mic saying 'a mi name Rodney' and feeling excited to do dat.
What has been your greatest challenge in the business yet?
Bounty: Well my greatest challenge is not getting di props I think I deserve.
What have you been up to lately?
Bounty: Lately I've been making music and working on di Alliance young artistes like Flexx, Chase Cross, Einstein, Iyara, Assailant and a couple more, there's a lot.
Are you happy with the way things are going for your career right now?
Bounty: Most definitely, after 17 years of so much success you couldn't have any regrets. And is not a regular thing, if you look in the dancehall is not a lot of persons wid longevity in their careers.
Do you have any advice for young artistes coming up?
Bounty: Yeah definitely a lot. Di first ting yuh haffi do as a young artiste is finish your education caw dat is important in every aspect of your life and yuh haffi be creative. Most of the artistes now, they trying to make themselves offa someone else, which is good yuh know, if yuh don't know which way to go it's good to follow someone.
Sometimes yuh have it in you, you just need to search some more. Some of dem they don't really want to wait, they put a time span on it and dats not how di music goes, is just your time is your time.
Perseverance is a good ting, yuh mus have it and courage. Dis day and age it's harder to buss, nowadays when a producer have two bad artistes him nuh waan see nobody else. Back inna di days, Jammys, no matter how many hot artistes inna di yard, him always want a new person, yuh mus search and c**** dem. Dem haffi have dem whole heap of skills caz is a different place and di radio is a different game.