yea mi agree...too much riddims a come out now still. And most a dem jus have d same set a artistes them everytime. And nuff a the songs sound the same. Them fi slow down. Leave some space fi the younger talent them to be heard. And wah happen to quality music?
Yes is does and it kinda makes the whole genre a bit boring at times. Gamepun you didn't call names but i know you started this topic because we can all blame Vybz Kartel for this. And it's true I'll give you that. Right now i am craving for new talent and would like to hear a bit more from people like Einstein, cause jah know di yute mad. Also the artists that record with UIM productions. I'm a fan of Natel let's hear more from him and people like Chedda and Jay Mckay. Enough with the mother****ing 5 drops a week Kartel. Gaza Mi Seh!
They should cut down on the amount of riddims... too much just makes it boring and annoying... unless they got actual quality or u r a dj keepin track...
I DON;T SEE HOW THIS A DIRECT BEARING ON THE SUCCESS OF YOUNG ARTISTE...IF DEM GOOD PPL WILL LISTEN
WAT THEY WOULD NEED IS GOOD MANAGEMENT AND PUBLICIST...WHICH IS EVEN A CHALLENGE FOR THE TOP ARTISTES WHICH IS Y PPL JUS MANAGE THEMSELVES
NEWAY YEH MAYBE THE MASS PRODUCTION AFFECTS THE QUALITY OF THE SONGS PRODUCED STILL BUT NOT FOR ARTISTE LIKE KARTEL LOL AN MI NAH JUS SE DAT CAW MI SEH GAZA BUT CUZ ARTISTE LIKE DAT SPECIAL, IT COME NATURAL U ZEET
new dancehall sucks period riddims come and go like water nuttin wit bassline all dem new riddims sound like dirty south beats.. the only riddims i hear in de club in toronto is good life, Airwaves , poison gas riddim, unfinished business das it really .... even all de yardy ppl from mi workplace a bun new dancehall harder den me . Bring back OLD DANCEHALL dats what i hear on a regular basis. Producers step up ur game fu real
It's slowly killing the business, it happend to the south in hip hop, slow it down a bit and let people get used to the new ones, then give us some thing else to dance to.
-- Edited by swaga on Saturday 5th of December 2009 06:31:25 PM
I think it is. Plus we're not getting to savour any of the good music any more. It's replaced on the airwaves by newer songs in no time. The thing is too, I don't see it stopping any time soon. It's also true that the newer artists aren't getting a chance to shine. In Trinidad Blak Ryno only make the radio a few months ago.
Yea it a kill the industry, the artist dem way release countless tunes end up competing with them selves on count down chart. Where as them could well survive off a certain tune for a while, look at Baby Cham all now him a milk 'ghetto story' enuh Look at Shaggy, and Sean Paul dem man dey release albums strategically...When unnu did think Buzz riddim dead out ano Sean Peal you see bring out Gimme de Light Video? Buju is still doing well you dont see him a release tune here dey and every way.