Topic: A mother's secret - Boy triumphs in GSAT not knowing his father had been killed

A mother's secret - Boy triumphs in GSAT not knowing his father had been killed

"My father was killed a week before my exams, but I did not know," reflected 11-year-old student Demoy Kerr from Montego Bay, who was placed at Cornwall College following his success in the Grade Six Achievement Test (GSAT).

Kerr, who attends the Barracks Road Primary School, yesterday remembered how his father's death was, in his best interest, kept a secret from him until after the examinations.

"My father worked in Virginia in the United States of America where he got a promotion," Kerr told The Gleaner on a visit to his school.

"But another employee did not like the fact that he was promoted and so my father and his boss (who promoted him) were shot and killed by this employee, who is now on the run."

The murder occurred on March 21, almost a week before GSAT. It was not until the exams were finished that the news of his father's death was revealed.

"I remembered my mother taking me to church after the exams but I didn't think it was strange for her to do that, but when I got there she took my to the pastor who, in the presence of mother, told me a story and then told me that my father was killed."

Kerr said he was shocked, saddened and speechless on hearing the news, which meant his father would not be able to share in the moment of his son's GSAT success.

It has now been more than two months since the incident occurred, and he says he cries and feels sad at times when he remembers his father.

READ MORE

damn yow...mi feel like mi ago bawl...esp with the way the man died...how people so FUCCIN badmind and grudgeful....dem fi ketch him and chop up him bluudclaat...slowly...limb by limb...stinkin raas...

Condolences sadsad

bad mind is active.... I dont know whether to sympathize with him or to celebrate his success

-- Edited by Garrick on Thursday 11th of June 2009 07:45:39 AM

sadchoman a wah do ppl nowadays

*Sham-Rock Production*
SAD

Garrick wrote:

bad mind is active.... I dont know whether to sympathize with him or to celebrate his success

-- Edited by Garrick on Thursday 11th of June 2009 07:45:39 AM

fi real

yu si all dem serious badmind dey???e mi peeps dats y mi nu ramp fi rise it