Topic: Cyaan hold back Versatile

Cyaan hold back Versatile

There is only one wish that upcoming dancehall artiste Sheldon 'Versatile' Taylor is hoping for when his musical career comes to an end - "I want to be fruitful and be able to release songs that will go through all life cycles," said the 23-year-old.

Taylor, who grew up in Bound Brook in Port Antonio, Portland, said he has dedicated all of his life to music. As a youngster, he entered the music business under the influence of veteran dancehall artiste Beenie Man, and he is now convinced that those experiences will make him a force to be reckoned with.

"I have learned a lot. Beenie Man is one of the greatest performers in the music business. Being around him I have learned how to deal with people and how to work in what is a challenging music business. I am trying to build my music and Beenie Man is a great example to follow," said Taylor, a past student of Port Antonio High, and Titchfield High.

songs

Currently, Taylor has penned the lyrics to the songs like Money Call, Just Like Kingston and Cyaan Hold Me Back, all of which are produced by Romeich Records and have been getting airplay.

Taylor said the song, Cyaan Hold Me Back, on which he collaborated with Laden, now has a video which was shot in Canada and directed by High-Class Productions.

So many young artistes have shown little ability once they are given the opportunity. However, Taylor believes he will make a lasting impact on the music business.

"I don't care how much young artistes have come and are not making any great impact, I believe that I am different. music is competitive and, as a young artiste, you have to learn the tricks of the business," he said.

Taylor also recalled when he was in search of the true meaning to life. After high school, he left with two CXC subjects and was advised to "go look a job, but it was all about music for me," he said.

"The music has done a lot for me. It takes time, but I see myself winning Grammy (awards) and operating a studio to help other artistes coming up in the business," he added.

grey_loader.gif

Attachments