Topic: Deportee loses touch with family in UK - Hasn't heard from clan since 2007

Deportee loses touch with family in UK - Hasn't heard from clan since 2007

Life has not been the same for 48-year-old Donovan Johnson since 2007. The man who was sent home from Englandin 2004 said he has been relentlessly trying to contact his wife and children back in the United Kingdom since 2007 to no avail. The experience has now left him seeking answers about his family's whereabouts.

Johnson said he used to speak with his wife and children, five and six years old, frequently after he returned to Jamaica in 2004. However, some three years after, the calls stopped coming in.

"I just want to know if they are alright," Johnson said. "I haven't spoken with them since 2007. When I call I just get the voicemail, so I don't know what's happening."

Johnson explained that he came back to Jamaica because of a family dispute which saw his wife withdrawing the documents filed for his marriage-based citizenship in the UK. He was subsequently deported. However, Johnson said all that has been long placed on the back burner.

"At this point, I'm concerned about my children more than anything else. Even if I don't get to go back to England, I just want to speak with them and find out if they and their mother is OK," Johnson said.

produce letter

The Ministry of Foreign Affairs said Johnson needs to furnish them with a letter bearing all the details of the situation, after which they would render some assistance.

Tanya Henry, service officer in the ministry's Diaspora and Consular Department, said as soon as the letter is received the ministry will contact the High Commission in that country to help locate his family.

grey_loader.gif

sticky pon him