Topic: $750,000 fine for drug courier

$750,000 fine for drug courier

A man, who told the court that he was trying to help his impoverished family when he imported cocaine into the island, was fined $750,000 and given a mandatory nine-month sentence in the Corporate Area Resident Magistrate's Court yesterday.

The accused, Kenneth Williams, was charged with possession, dealing in, and attempting to import cocaine.

The court was told that on the day in question, Williams was returning to the island when his luggage and person were searched and the contraband found. The cocaine weighed a little over 1 kg (2.25 lb).

Williams told the court that he was only trying to help his family. He said, "I am 46 and mi neva do dis inna mi life. I was jus trying to help mi family because they're poor. Mi try one time and mi fail. I know I was wrong."

Williams, who was ordered to give his fingerprints, was sentenced to $200,000 or six months for possession, $250,000 or six months for dealing and $300,000 or six months for attempting to import the drug. If he fails to pay the fines he will serve 15 months.

dem should a kill him for dealing with the white bitch

lc