Dear Editor, To the supporters of an ignoble regime who choose to hold our people and our music in stagnation, I respond personally. Yes.
You all took my statement out of context and I am not surprised.
I am quite aware of how much you would like to tarnish, but you cannot stop truth.
This music evolves like everything else in life. For you and all your so called 'musicologists' to say the music is all about one person is totally unfair to those like myself who have been making a significant contribution.
Now, let us get this clear, Bob was great, talented, charismatic, the teacher, the father.
But what about Peter Tosh, Alton Ellis and Bunny Wailer? We owe our musical greatness not just to one individual but concerted effort by a brave set of people.
Now after almost 50 years have gone, a new sound and a generation have emerged.
Must we subject them to the scrutiny of an age gone when our reality is much different? Give us a chance to grow.
GREGORY ISAACS, BERES HAMMOND,GEORGE NOOKS, GLEN WASHINGTON--(LEGACY OF LOVERS ROCK MUSIC) , THIRD WORLD, STEEL PULSE AND BLACK UHURU--------------(INTERNATIONAL GROUPS), , SHABBA RANKS, BUJU BANTON, NINJAMAN, PAPA SAN, LT STITCHIE---(DANCEHALL FOUNDATION)
BEENIE MAN, BOUNTY KILLER, SPRAGGA BENZ, CAPLETON, MADD COBRA-------(ICONS OF THE DANCEHALL)....
SO WE HAVE TOO MUCH PEOPLE FI THANK, BOB MEK IT POSSIBLE FI THESE PPL TOO---
PPL SHOULD LEARN FROM THIS, WE ONLY APPRECIATE ARTIST WHEN THEY ARE DEAD.....WE NEED TO SHOW PROPS TO REAL ELDERS IN THE BUSINESS AND THOSE WHO ARE STILL THE CORNERSTONE OF THE INDUSTRY
GREGORY ISAACS, BERES HAMMOND,GEORGE NOOKS, GLEN WASHINGTON--(LEGACY OF LOVERS ROCK MUSIC) , THIRD WORLD, STEEL PULSE AND BLACK UHURU--------------(INTERNATIONAL GROUPS), , SHABBA RANKS, BUJU BANTON, NINJAMAN, PAPA SAN, LT STITCHIE---(DANCEHALL FOUNDATION)
BEENIE MAN, BOUNTY KILLER, SPRAGGA BENZ, CAPLETON, MADD COBRA-------(ICONS OF THE DANCEHALL)....
PPL SHOULD LEARN FROM THIS, WE ONLY APPRECIATE ARTIST WHEN THEY ARE DEAD.....WE NEED TO SHOW PROPS TO REAL ELDERS IN THE BUSINESS AND THOSE WHO ARE STILL THE CORNERSTONE OF THE INDUSTRY
SO GIVE THESE PPL THE RESPECT THEY DESERVE
tru