In this weekly Mus' Buss Caan Buss song review feature, three musical minds will analyse each song and will grade it on vocal ability, lyrics, musical arrangement and appeal. Songs that make the grade will be dubbed 'Mus' Buss', while songs that flop will be dumped in the 'Caan Buss' bin.
The three reviewers welcome feedback from the artistes and the public about the column. Send your comments to bussdem@hotmail.com or mail in your songs to 'Mus' Buss' at the Gleaner Company, 7 North Street, Kingston. This week the mus' buss/caan buss team will be reviewing Einstein's Mek She Please (Chimney Records).
King Kong: Is a sigh of relief to see him not bussing shots in a song, don't know about otherwise.
Witch: For real, this girl tune is better for him than the buss shot thing, it just don't suit him. This song just catchy, I don't know if is the riddim or what, but is something yuh just a nod to.
King Kong: Chimney a go hard. Di production pon dis, especially the supporting vocals in the background and the lyrics are crafty.
Queen: I like di chorus, it's very catchy, it's very explicit but catchy. It has the feel of the Mavado song Never Believe Yuh. It slow, yuh can see a lot of people grinding to di song and I do mean grinding.
King Kong: I like how he varies his delivery, he sings part and him deejay part like how Kartel delivers some of his songs. However, the chorus fi a girl tune, which is sumting girls can dance to, I don't see people dancing to this as the chorus is too slow.
Witch: Yeah, Einstein doesn't usually sing, so the change is good and breathes new life into his style.
Queen: The riddim kinda sound like something that has been done already, but slightly varied. It woulda been better if it was something different.
King Kong: Is this a sign of musical maturity for Einstein?
Queen: A him best song ever.
King Kong: Dunno if its his work or dat of di producers, he's showing some innovation in di delivery.
Witch: I think di riddim sounds good, it's catchy and it doesn't remind me 'bout another riddim per se as Queen seh. Undoubtedly, is one of Einstein better songs and one dat can play on radio and get a forward in di dancehall if dem give it a chance. Who knew Einstein had these lyrics in him?
Queen: Mus' say I agree; I never knew he was capable of dis, I'm proud of dis step and hope he can keep it up. Can we buss it now?
King Kong: A small buss, it nah go buss big radio-wise. People have to get accustomed to Einstein doing girl tunes. Bet yuh if it was Mavado do it wid his melody it woulda buss, but seeing dat its Einstein it might tek a while for people to mek a connection.
Witch: I slightly disagree: the clean version can play on radio and it strike me as sumting radio would buss rather than hard-core dancehall people. Di song itself nuh bad and it have buss potential if people woulda play it.
Queen: Well mi woulda give it a buss inna di dancehall, a mean I can see people vibing to it. As for radio, if it tek off in di dancehall as I expect I think it will get a buss on radio as well but dats the extent of di buss.