Manhattans Riverside Church - one of the countrys most illustrious religious institutions - is paying its new senior pastor, the Rev. Brad Braxton, more than $600,000 in annual compensation.
Thats twice what Braxtons predecessor, James Forbes, one of the countrys best-known preachers, was getting after running Riverside for more than 18 years.
It amounts to almost 10 times what William Sloane Coffin, the legendary anti-Vietnam War clergyman, was paid in his last year as senior minister at Riverside in 1987.
Braxton was selected in a vote of the congregation last fall and is to be officially installed Sunday.
A group of church dissidents claims the members were never told about the lavish package.
Church sources say it includes: # $250,000 in salary. # $11,500 monthly housing allowance. # Private school tuition for his child. # A full-time maid. # Entertainment, travel and professional development allowances. # Pension and life insurance benefits. # An equity allowance for Braxton to save up to buy a home.
On top of that, Braxton immediately hired a new second in command at more than $300,000 a year.
It might be or seem outrageous, I sure the church will but him to the curb if he does not deliver what he has promised them in return for his compensation package.
yo thats crazy it looks like i got to change my profession mi did kno seh money inna di church dats y most of these pastor round where i live drive benz bimma and jags ............. o yea and i forgot da range rover to
-- Edited by DT092407 on Monday 27th of April 2009 08:08:10 PM
Fcuk him ..............why is he sellin the Gospel...........It supposed to be free...........HIM AGO A HELL!!!!!!!!!!!!..........600K TO SPREAD THE WORD!?????!......SMFH