these ppl just don't get it..... Grow your kids right and you'll have nothing to worry about. Instill the in them the values and morals that you like to see replicated in the wider society and trust them to make their own decision. Stop blaming the music for the social, economic and moral ill's of this country.
Grow them right but how do we protect them when they are at school, with friends....how do you protect them from the polluted airwaves?
Garrick what you said is what you "want" believe. You are contradicting yourself. Grow your kids right and you'll have nothing to worry about. trust them to make their own decision.
If you have "grown them right" you would know what they will decide. BECUASE YOU HAVE GROWN THEM RIGHT. So when you say, "trust them to make their own decision," it will not be their decision, it will be(somewhat) yours(as a parent). As you said " Instill the in them the values and morals that you like to see replicated."
Replicated, yeah, humans tend to treat their offsprings like computer programmes. So when your parent tells you that when you grow up you should be a doctor and you end up a teacher, you feel like you have lost. Living up to the expectations of another.
I too think of this dream but their are other influences *cough* media.
-- Edited by Dj Quiva on Sunday 3rd of May 2009 01:34:53 PM
unno affi kill soca 1st then kill internet den unno can try attack dancehall....UNNO NAH NOTICE SEH ALOT OF MAN & LESBIAN DEH A JA, & WE ALL KNOW DAT DANCEHALL NUH TEACH DEM FI TUN MAN & LESBIAN SO UNNO FI JUS EASY UNNO SELF & LOW DANCEHALL ALONE BADANG!!!
I don't think the writer is saying children should not know about "the bird and the bees". It's the manner in which Kartel and the other Djs communicate it....vulgar indeed!
the manner its in is just how jamaicans express theirself verbally & physically, bcoz of di english educational brain wash why felllow jamaicans like da writer don't appreciate da way we express ourself straight 4wud & saying it as it is without trying to pretty it up... dat specific write don't appreciate jamaican culture....until we understand that JAMAICAN culture is not da same as AMERICA, ENGLAND etc...then there will alwasys be a prob...we need to accept who we are & not try to follow DA EUROPEANS, AMERICANS ettc...mi cah bother talk bout dis ya coz mi woulda write all a book or few wen mi done
WE AS JAMAICANS ARE CREATIVE , SO THEY BAN SONGS WITH THE WORD DAGGER ..MINOR TING THAT ...ALL THATS GONNA HAPPEN IS THEY GONNA COIN ANOTHER PHRASE TOGETHER TO MEAN THE SAME THING ....COME ON NOW ...YALL CANT BLAME THE MUSIC FOR THIS ..WHERE ARE THE PARENTS? SOCIETY IS NOT THE SAME N E MORE ... KIDS NOWADAYS HAVE ACCESS TO INTERNET ..OK BAN IT FROM THE AIRWAY YES ... IS THAT GONNA SOLVE THE PROBLEM ? NO ..BECUZ WHAT ITS STILL ACCESSIBLE THRU THE INTERNET .
OK . BAN DANCEHALL ..CUZ DEM SAY DAGGER . BUT A RNB SONG IS GONNA SAY "SHE GONNA LET ME BEEP BEEP BEEP " WHAT IS HE REFERRING TO ? AND THESE SONGS ARE STILL GONNA BE ON THE AIRWAY ...SO DID THAT FIX THE PROBLEM OF KIDS BEING EXPOSED THE LEWD MUSIC??
WE AS JAMAICANS ARE CREATIVE , SO THEY BAN SONGS WITH THE WORD DAGGER ..MINOR TING THAT ...ALL THATS GONNA HAPPEN IS THEY GONNA COIN ANOTHER PHRASE TOGETHER TO MEAN THE SAME THING ....COME ON NOW ...YALL CANT BLAME THE MUSIC FOR THIS ..WHERE ARE THE PARENTS? SOCIETY IS NOT THE SAME N E MORE ... KIDS NOWADAYS HAVE ACCESS TO INTERNET ..OK BAN IT FROM THE AIRWAY YES ... IS THAT GONNA SOLVE THE PROBLEM ? NO ..BECUZ WHAT ITS STILL ACCESSIBLE THRU THE INTERNET .
OK . BAN DANCEHALL ..CUZ DEM SAY DAGGER . BUT A RNB SONG IS GONNA SAY "SHE GONNA LET ME BEEP BEEP BEEP " WHAT IS HE REFERRING TO ? AND THESE SONGS ARE STILL GONNA BE ON THE AIRWAY ...SO DID THAT FIX THE PROBLEM OF KIDS BEING EXPOSED THE LEWD MUSIC??
JB...have you listened to the unedited version of Rampin Shop...there is nothing subtle about it.
It's the vulgarity and the sexual and violent images that the lyrics portray which are unfit for public consumption. It's hard to compare the hardcore nature of dancehall with subtleness of RnB.
these ppl just don't get it..... Grow your kids right and you'll have nothing to worry about. Instill the in them the values and morals that you like to see replicated in the wider society and trust them to make their own decision. Stop blaming the music for the social, economic and moral ill's of this country.
Grow them right but how do we protect them when they are at school, with friends....how do you protect them from the polluted airwaves?
Garrick what you said is what you "want" believe. You are contradicting yourself. Grow your kids right and you'll have nothing to worry about. trust them to make their own decision.
If you have "grown them right" you would know what they will decide. BECUASE YOU HAVE GROWN THEM RIGHT. So when you say, "trust them to make their own decision," it will not be their decision, it will be(somewhat) yours(as a parent). As you said " Instill the in them the values and morals that you like to see replicated."
Replicated, yeah, human tend to treat their offsprings like computer programmes. So when your parent tell you that when you grow up you should be adoctor and you end up a teacher you felt like you have lost. Living up to the expectations of another.
I too think of this dream but their are other influences *cough* media.
why u fi ban daggerin tunes is jus music talkin bout sex tv talk bout sex too so ban tv internet talk bout sex so ban internet people talk bout sex so ban people too it nuh mek sense ban daggerin tune its jsu how some people waah enjoy dem self an even if u ban dem they still goin find anoda way to enjoy dem self
unno affi kill soca 1st then kill internet den unno can try attack dancehall....UNNO NAH NOTICE SEH ALOT OF MAN & LESBIAN DEH A JA, & WE ALL KNOW DAT DANCEHALL NUH TEACH DEM FI TUN MAN & LESBIAN SO UNNO FI JUS EASY UNNO SELF & LOW DANCEHALL ALONE BADANG!!!
I don't think the writer is saying children should not know about "the bird and the bees". It's the manner in which Kartel and the other Djs communicate it....vulgar indeed!
the manner its in is just how jamaicans express theirself verbally & physically, bcoz of di english educational brain wash why felllow jamaicans like da writer don't appreciate da way we express ourself straight 4wud & saying it as it is without trying to pretty it up... dat specific write don't appreciate jamaican culture....until we understand that JAMAICAN culture is not da same as AMERICA, ENGLAND etc...then there will alwasys be a prob...we need to accept who we are & not try to follow DA EUROPEANS, AMERICANS ettc...mi cah bother talk bout dis ya coz mi woulda write all a book or few wen mi done
Wow Daggering now encompasses the whole of Jamaican culture. We abroad simply cannot fathom it in our uninformed brainwashed state. I will return to this point but first it has been my observation as a DJ that Dancehall lyrics run in cycles of popularity. Gunman tune, Culture, God tune and Sex tune not in any particular order. With each cycle the limit is pushed and some people get offended.
The government had to step in to maintain a standard of decency with a broadcast ban of Daggering on the public airwaves. Because it offends people in the general public who don't want to be b****arded with this level of vulgarity and explicit expression. In other words, one man's art is another man's garbage. However people are still free to choose what they want to listen to in their privacy or venues that cater to that lifestyle.
Instead of a total ban another option would have been similar to TV regulations where Adult oriented programming is aired after hours. That compromise might have been more widely accepted.
Debasing, vugar and explicit expressions in whatever form should not be pumped into impressionable ears of our children. All of you that support the public broadcast of Daggering tune are not true fathers. It is the responsibilty of parents to educate their children about life and protect them from harm.
Lyndo I am 100% Jamaican born and grown with no collage education to brainwash me. I DO CHALLENGE YOU TO WRITE A BOOK. I look forward to it. It would be potentially amusing to say the least.
why u fi ban daggerin tunes is jus music talkin bout sex tv talk bout sex too so ban tv internet talk bout sex so ban internet people talk bout sex so ban people too it nuh mek sense ban daggerin tune its jsu how some people waah enjoy dem self an even if u ban dem they still goin find anoda way to enjoy dem self
Yes Selectah...let's open up the world to all the evils...what's the difference anyway?