Beneath the scars - Insults burn fire victims

Layout1_1_PN6IKandCedriAM.jpg
The brothers who share the bond of burns. - Ricardo Makyn/Staff Photographer

When 50-year-old Carol Myers* takes a stroll on Jamaica's streets, she feels the piercing stares of passers-by. Crude snickering and probing questions are poignant reminders that she is different. The desire to fit in is trumped by the reality that she stands out.

Myers, whose right hand was incinerated in a workplace acci-dent, and subsequently cut off, knows well the pain of burn victims who struggle to shake off the scorn and social discrimination that disfigurement sometimes brings.

Persistent inquisitions

In public, they fend off persistent inquisitions about the source of their wounds and are followed around by nagging children. In private, they battle with depression and low self-esteem and often retreat into isolation. Though the wounds are external, hurt resonates beneath the surface.

"Life is different and it makes me feel left out sometimes because I don't go out anymore," stated Myers, whose home has become a reclusive cocoon from the hail of questions and insults about her condition. "Persons pass a lot of inferior remarks about me on the street, which I feel funny about, but I won't allow it to overthrow me."

But during an interview with The Gleaner, her steely resolve faltered as rivulets of tears ran down her face. The pain is palpable. Though Myers doesn't bear the trademark skin wounds of traditional burn victims, negative reactions to her injury exacerbate her trauma. A frequent remark which angers her is, "Man chop off yuh han'."

The father of Oshane, two, and his four-year-old brother Vincent Richards, who were burnt when a coal stove exploded, said he is worried about the ridicule his children will face as they grow up.

"Mi children spoil up, but I am praying they will grow it out because if they don't, they are going to have some terrible scars to cope with," lamented their father. As he took a deep breath, tears welled up. The pause was pregnant with pain. But in a show of defiance, he quickly contained himself. "They are going to make it though and if them must become a doctor or lawyer, they are still going to be it 'cause this won't stop them."

Cassandra Rigg, 24, oozes similar confidence. Despite being scarred from head to foot, Rigg, who suffered severe burns at age two when her house was set ablaze, believes she is still beautiful.

"I don't try to hide the scars in any way, and I go out just like anyone else," she stated.

Rigg said she tries to ignore insultive comments and remains, for the most part, unfazed. However, she told The Gleaner that criticism and meanness sometimes caused her to question God about her challenges.

"I have a high self-esteem, so I don't allow my misfortune to get me down because I know I am no way lesser than anyone. However, the remarks I have to go through on a daily basis sometimes make me think otherwise," she explained.

Beneath the veneer of strength exuded by Delores Marshall, Rigg's mom, signs of depression are evident when she speaks about the horrific incident that changed the looks of her youngest daughter, forever transforming her life.

"I am still hurt over the situation and when I think about it, I can't help but to cry," Marshall said. "I know God have her here for a purpose, so I won't worry myself too much."

Real name withheld for privacy

nadisha.hunter@gleanerjm.com

Layout1_1_PXASZBurnvictAM.jpg
Cassandra Rigg says despite her scars, she knows she's still beautiful. - Peta-Gaye Clachar/Staff Photographer

High hopes

Rayon Robinson has an almost other-worldly cheerfulness that belies his physical incapacity. The 42-year-old, who was blinded by acid in a workplace accident, has an uncanny optimism despite contention with jeers from critics.

"I know I am going to achieve my goals just the same because I have quality and I know I can make it," he declared.

Robinson, whose hopefulness is buttressed by his Christian convictions, said his dream is to be blessed with two children and a job in religious ministry.

Engrossed in singing responsibilities at his local church, Robinson said he is also hoping to take his talent to a higher level soon.

"My present condition won't set me back as I am nothing short of a human being," he added.

Fabian Letman, 28, who suffered scars to his body in a freak accident three years ago, said though he feels isolated from society, the tragedy has helped to build his self-esteem.

"This incident motivates me to go on to higher heights," remarked Letman, a security guard at Hampton School in St Elizabeth. "The whole situation affects my life in every aspect you can think of, but I'm trying to be strong and remain positive. I believe one day I will overcome my distresses," he said.

ouch!!!!!!

<((\\=^=Rimz=^=//))>
jah kno

ppl too cruel

a no really cruel people cruel enuh.. some just curious n sympathetic. The victims on the other hand are self conscious of the "flaw" they have so they become "more aware" of people's stare.