Topic: Keeping death penalty will not cut murder rates'

Keeping death penalty will not cut murder rates'

Layout1_1_PIHBKachrluncAM.jpg

The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) is warning Jamaicans not to expect a reduction in murders because of the recent decision by members of the House of Representatives to retain the death penalty.

Officials of the IACHR met with media heads at The Gleaner's North Street, central Kingston, offices yesterday and emerged with the clear warning that it will take more than the return of the death penalty to reduce violent crimes in Jamaica.

"Our experience with the death penalty shows two things - and this is not an assessment on Jamaica - but all of the studies that we are aware of and that we have taken into account show that the death penalty does not, in fact, have any measurable deterrent effect on serious crime," Paola Carozza, chairman of the IACHR told The Gleaner.

"The thing that does have a measurable deterrent effect is effectiveness in investigation and prosecution of crime," Carozza added.

Lack of accountability

He is urging the political directorate to ensure that investigation, prosecution and a speedy judicial process are in place to put the handcuffs on crime.

"It is impunity and the lack of accountability that contribute to serious crime, not the nature of the punishment," the IACHR chairman said.

The IACHR has long made it clear that it is opposed to the capital punishment, but Carozza yesterday accepted that there was nothing in the law to prevent Jamaica from carrying out the death penalty.

Last week, local parliamentarians voted 34 to 15 to retain the death penalty as the ultimate punishment for some crimes in Jamaica. They also voted 36 to 15 against abolishing the death penalty.

Officials of the IACHR are in the island for talks with members of the political directorate and civil society.

The island's libel laws and the death penalty are expected to top the agenda when the IACHR representatives meet with government officials.

ll3949o49tp.gif

ta
hmmwow

ratid

"The thing that does have a measurable deterrent effect is effectiveness in investigation and prosecution of crime,"....EXACTLY!

I agree with EVERY SINGLE WORD of this article clapclapclapclapclap

true but di P**y dem fi dead

yow nobody cyaan tell mi nuttin if u hang two man infront of a crowd a ppl, u tink seh who witness or hear bout it a go wah do f**kery again ?

hang em high

hang em

well public display of justice, will cause some deterrent factor.
the yutes dem weh a murda ppl now are exactly that..."youths" it will affect them psychologically as if me see a man a get hang and know seh if them find out that im guilty that ima die, then id be either 1. EXTRA CAREFUL or 2. STOP

veyt true clap

-- Edited by WIFEY at 18:09, 2008-12-04

Ok let me evaluate this,first of all,capital crimes =capital punishment,so i dont believe it wont cut murderates..Secondly,without any accountabilty of these crimes,its goin 2 continue and without d proper punishment of these serious crimes,its still going 2 continue,so i believe it will only work if they find d right c****ination...It takes cooperation, we all must work wit d authorities 2 solve crime,so that we can bring d perpretrators 2 justice r else it doesnt make any sense...

Pssh...not gonna happen...no one is gonna say anything or testify against anyone...everybody too fraid...or dem nuh wah be nuh "informa"...lc

Shottess wrote:

Pssh...not gonna happen...no one is gonna say anything or testify against anyone...everybody too fraid...or dem nuh wah be nuh "informa"...lc

Datz y crime cant stop..cuz nobody wants 2 take responsibility,but pity we dont kno we might b d next gone 2 dawgz!We all give these criminals power over us by being afraid of dem and maaaaan...do they enjoy it d figures speak 4 it self!!!we hav 1500 murders a year o my!

it nuh mek sense fi true

look...dis only ago mek d man dem plan dem murder more carful