Topic: Kartel reveals life story(part 2)

Kartel reveals life story(part 2)

STARRIGHT_1_PKGGQmfestfAM.jpg

Part 2 of 5

Today we continue a five part interview with deejay Vybz Kartel conducted by reporter Krista Henry. Today, Kartel discusses his beginnings in Portmore, life at school and his initial meeting with then musical 'father' Bounty Killer.

"Becoming Vybz Kartel of di Portmore Empire yuh done know that's more of a family unit but at the same time a musical unit."

KH: How influential was Bounty to your career?

VK: "In my initial stages 'bout 90 per cent and den afta dat Vybz Kartel was always Vybz Kartel from day one. When I meet him as a young artiste is not like mi come wid nuting. I had tons of energy to offer, tons of lyrics, I had the energy and the resources I just needed the avenue, that was Bounty Killer."

KH: Why did you leave the Alliance?

(In 2006 Kartel left the Bounty Killer-led Alliance, in order to start a new journey. He subsequently changed his name to Addi Di Teacha, although most still refer to him as Vybz Kartel.)

VK: "You kno seh Vybz Kartel must become his own big man, just like wid life you grow up, you get a job and you move on, you don't stay in di house otherwise yuh a idler."

KH: Are you still friends with anyone from the Alliance?

VK: "Vybz Kartel nuh beg fren."

KH: Would you ever think about rejoining the Alliance?

VK: "Why would I want to go backwards in life? Mi grandmodda would say that's for cruffs."

KH: After leaving Alliance did persons say to you that you were ungrateful to Bounty Killer for leaving?

VK: "Inna di early stages dem would seh that. Dem couldn't seh it to my face cause that would be disrespectful."

KH: What did you say to the naysayers?

VK: "There's always two sides to a story."

KH: Would you ever consider clashing Bounty on stage?

VK: "Vybz Kartel fears no one."

KH: Do you think he could defeat you?

VK: "Vybz Kartel is undefeatable."

KH: So if you were at an event and saw Bounty would you greet him?

VK: "I only greet females."

KH: What do you think was the turning point in your career?

VK: "Becoming Vybz Kartel of di Portmore Empire yuh done know that's more of a family unit but at the same time a musical unit."

(Shortly after leaving the Alliance, Kartel formed his Portmore Empire in early 2007, with himself at the helm. The Empire consists of persons primarily hailing from Portmore who Kartel considers to be talented.)

KH: Lyrically is there anyone you consider to be as good as you?

VK: "Blak Ryno (laughs)."

(Kartel's latest prodigy)

KH: You are regarded as an excellent lyricist, do you think this is from street smarts or from school, or both?

VK: "From both. But mi pay more attention to school. A lot of people have lyrics and don't know how to express it cause they don't have the academic knowledge."

KH: Do you read a lot?

VK: "Every day, every second, every minute. Mi read everything and believe me, mi mean everything."

KH: What was the last book you read?

(Sounds of him going to get the book)

VK: "Boy mi not even done it yet, it's called Egyptian Philosopher, a one Rasta yute mi buy it from."

KH: Do you watch a lot of TV?

VK: "Not really yuh know. Mi more into di computer ting. Yuh can get a lot more information on the Internet."

KH: What inspires you?

VK: "People, life, events."

KH: Do you write your lyrics down or does it come from the top of your head?

VK: "Top of my head for the last two years, before dat mi used to write some stuff down but mi dash dat weh."

KH: Do you think the current crop of deejays has raised the standard, that they are on your level?

VK: "Well music is not always bout lyrics but mi nuh see no one raise di standard lyrically. Noboddy don't do it. Ryno here have him own style, otherwise all of dem use my style and don't pay mi homage. Dem use ego and hype, but when dem go to bed dem haffi seh a likkle prayer to di teacha."

KH: A lot of people think you're a lyrical genius but say your brain is wasted on gun and girl songs. Is this true?

VK: "Yuh haffi look on di track record. If it's working, would I change the formula?"

KH: Would you consider making a CD of conscious songs?

VK: "Yeah man, soon, as a matter of fact we have one wid Not Nice now called 'Pon Di Gaza', which is not released as yet."

In the next instalment Kartel talks about clashing with Ninja Man at Sting and the prospects of a Sting 2008 clash with his arch rival Mavado.

Teach dem teacha

addi a di boss.we nuh fraid no one

yow is really an intelligent likle f**ka inno, "Every day, every second, every minute. Mi read everything and believe me, mi mean everything."

AAAH HELLBOY GWAN DO YUH THING.
ALLIANCEEEEEEEEEEEEEEpppp

me seh me daddy mad........
him joke out the interview still...
GULLY MONKEY....JUS BILL

●●● $.Art Director .$ ●●●
THE BOSS

addi at dem !

throwbaclogo4.jpg

VADO AGO MURDA U

VK: "Vybz Kartel is undefeatable."

VK: "I only greet females."

lol di two maddes answers

iqk6l2.jpg

Shortly after leaving the Alliance, Kartel formed his Portmore Empire in early 2007, with himself at the helm. The Empire consists of persons primarily hailing from Portmore who Kartel considers to be talented.)

hmm.gif

mi check seh dat was a lie

linko wrote:

VADO AGO MURDA U

check di history yute, a lyrics win war and vado nuh have lyrics like addi even beenie as a veteran in di business see dat.
What vado do have though is punchine and i think he would use that to his advantage. all in all in would be a very interesting clash to see punchline going up against lyrics.
but i still have to say kartel would tek it if dem clash.

iqk6l2.jpg

radkin wrote:

linko wrote:

VADO AGO MURDA U

check di history yute, a lyrics win war and vado nuh have lyrics like addi even beenie as a veteran in di business see dat.
What vado do have though is punchine and i think he would use that to his advantage. all in all in would be a very interesting clash to see punchline going up against lyrics.

yute vado not cuming alone cuz kartel will definitely nuh cum alone...kartel is a coward,flex and assailant and dem man go finish daman off cuz mate eh have bad lyrics like dem man,all mate can do is take shate bout gun long from weh to weh...mate in a fantasy world

su

-- Edited by speng002 at 02:49, 2008-12-06

firespeng002 wrote:

radkin wrote:

linko wrote:

VADO AGO MURDA U

yute vado not cuming alone cuz kartel will definitely cum alone...kartel is a coward,flex and assailant and dem man go finish daman off cuz mate eh have bad lyrics like dem man,all mate can do is take shate bout gun long from weh to weh...mate in a fantasy world

su

fool how kartel a go alone wa happen to rhyno javinchi and d rest a man dem fool

MZJA Music Producer
empire!!!!!!

*Mzj Producer*
SALUTE Di f*kkin KING OF DANCEHALL..............Di Teacha Mi Say!............*u*kkk Unnu Madda If U Nuh Like Dat!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Teacha to di universe!!!!!!!!!!

MZJA ARTIST
this a get bigg

Not sure i'm agreeing with him right here,but datz his opinion still...

-- Edited by KILLAPRO at 11:52, 2008-12-01

KILLAPRO wrote:

Not sure i'm agreeing with him right here,but datz his opinion still...

-- Edited by KILLAPRO at 11:52, 2008-12-01

di man a hype up ryno career...unno nuh ovastand business...ryno nuh half sick wid lyrics llike donia, not even faggie nuh lyrical like donia dem jus have more flow