Topic: US MEN N WOMEN 4X100 RELAY TEAMS DISQUALIFIED***DK***

US MEN N WOMEN 4X100 RELAY TEAMS DISQUALIFIED***DK***

US men, women both flub baton handoffs in relay

BEIJING (AP)The U.S. men and women both dropped the baton in the Olympic 400-meter relays Thursday night and failed to advance out of the first round.

First, mens anchor Tyson Gay, part of the American team that won the relay at last years world championships, did not get the red metal stick from third-leg runner Darvis Patton.

Then, about 25 minutes later, womens anchor Lauryn Williams flubbed her exchange with Torri Edwards, their baton dropping to the ground, too. At the 2004 Olympics, Williams started running too early and missed a handoff from Marion Jones in the final.

If people want to assess the blame to me, thats OK. I mean, I can take whatever it is that people are going to dish out, Williams said. We had good chemistry. The hand was back there. She was there. I dont know what happened.

Unlike the men, who stopped racing, Williams scrambled back on the wet track to pick up the baton and complete the lapmore than 6 seconds after first-place Belgium finished in 42.92. But the U.S. was disqualified.

Jamaica, continuing its strong showing at the Birds Nest, won the other preliminary womens heat in 42.24.

Earlier, when Gay reached back for his exchange, he never got a grasp of the baton, which tumbled.

Afterward, Gay and Patton both took the blame.

Gay, who also failed to reach the final in the individual 100, said he felt the baton and then I went to grab it and there was nothing. Its kind of the way its been happening to me this Olympics.

He said he never before dropped a baton in a relay and that he and Patton practiced all week without missing a handoff.

Thats Tyson Gay. Hes a humble guy, Patton said. But I know its my job to get the guy the baton, and I didnt do that.

Trinidad and Tobago won the heat. Only four of the eight teams managed to make it all the way around the one-lap race without a problem in a light rain.

Jamaica won the second heat, with former 100 world record-holder Asafa Powell running the anchor leg. Usain Bolt, who broke the world records in the 100 and 200 while winning those gold medals, was given the night off but is expected to run in Fridays relay final.
r3174276921.jpg

-- Edited by ***DK*** at 14:05, 2008-08-21

۞The Senior'۞
bwoy dem salt same place it happened in the two raceslc

d more dem try fight wi a di more dem athletes dem frig up!

damn....me did waan dem loose inna d finals

"MZ Gangsta Gyallis"
BAD MIND CYAH HOLD WE DOWN

madd
dem seh ja team obeah dem....lol

Wow...everyone on the US team has lost their nerves. See what a little pressure can do....

IF DATA TRUE DEN IT WORKING LOL!

me hope trinidad get a gold me go be happy .. counting on triini thompson guy to pull it thorugh for us

zeen

https://twitter.com/#!/IAmStewieJa

da'nandi

:below:

HEY DEAR, U NO C JAMAICA DEH BOUT?....HUSH!

oh lovely that is what happen for talkin trash

only mek it easier fi wi get di gold

KARMA is a bitch...

USA fails and can't put the blame on drugs...or a foot outside the lane...lol

RRRRRR MI DID WAA DEM INNA DI FINALS

Sh*T did want them in the finals but thats what happens when you cant handle a little pressure they should have entered the race with clear minds instead they have jamaica on their minds weak minded foolstdwn