Like his first appearance at Reggae Sumfest in 2005, R&B sensation Akon got a reception of deafening screams and overwhelming energy from patrons inside the Catherine Hall Entertainment Complex in Montego Bay, St James on Friday night.
The Senegalese-born singer opened with his disc jockey, Benny D, spinning dancehall and hip-hop hits, much to the delight of patrons.
In addition to singing hits including Smack That, Ghetto, Trouble Nobody and Locked Up, the entertainer did a striptease that saw him throwing t-shirts into the crowd.
This gesture, he told the crowd, was open to "the ladies only". Akon, who took time from his Canadian tour for Reggae Sumfest, also invited Jamaica's Tami Chynn on stage for their hit collaboration Frozen.
He also demanded to go 'to his people'. He jumped off the stage, made his way through the VIP area with the help of security officers - stepping on patrons in the process - and over the fence that separated the rest of the patrons.
Friday night's show also included headline acts like 26-year-old R&B singer Keyshia Cole, Queen Ifrica, Jah Cure, who was performing in Montego Bay for the first time in eight years, and the conscious Richie Spice.
Cole's back-up singers and dancers did more to engage the patrons. Queen Ifrica was in her full element as she lit up the venue with her social commentaries and witty lyrics.
There were also noteworthy acts from the electrifying LUST, Terry Linen, who impressed the crowd with his vocal styling and message-filled songs, Lutan Fyah, Pressure and Courtney John.
From her repertoire of hits, Queen Ifrica treated an appreciative audience to Brown Skin,Randy, Sensimina and Below the Waist. There was a heartfelt moment during her duo with Choc'late Allen from Trinidad and Tobago titled Friends.
"You can change the laws of man, but you caan change the laws of God - nuh bring it to Jamaica, keep it to yuself," sang Ifrica, as she debuted her new song that challenged homosexuality.
The Rastafarian daughter ended her set with Daddy Don't Touch Me There.
Richie Spice, who was the closing act, displayed maturity as he delivered songs like The Plane Land, Earth A Run Red, What Is This, and Groovin' My Girl.
I NEVER fail, i'm just SUCCESSFUL in finding out what doesn't work Freedom is never voluntarily given by the oppressor; it must be demanded by the oppressed.