The Police Public Complaints Authority (PPCA) is reviewing a case involving a female corporal of police who owes her landlord more than $1 million in rent and, despite an order from the Sutton Street Civil Court, has refused to make payments.
The corporal, who reportedly has more than 35 years of service in the force, rented the four-bedroom house, located in Pembroke Hall, in December 2002. According to Carmen Tomlinson, whose sister owns the house, and who has power of attorney, the policewoman stopped paying rent in October 2003.
The monthly rent of $22,000 therefore accumulated to an outstanding figure of $1,172,863. This is the amount owed for the period November 2003 to October 2007. The corporal was evicted in January 2008.
Several summonses
Tomlinson, who took several documents to support her claims, also told THE STAR that the corporal failed to pay the utility bills and allowed electricity and water supply to be disconnected. She added that although several summonses had been prepared, she only made two appearances in the Sutton Street Civil Court.
Tomlinson told THE STAR, "We got a lawyer and we couldn't find her to serve the summons. Nobody knows where she is living and no one has a contact number for her."
She said the place was left in a deplorable state, and added that the policewoman was still in possession of the keys. She said several attempts made to locate her and retrieve the keys were unsuccessful. She added, "She chain up di gate, so everytime we want to go into di yard. we have to jump the fence. We wanted to get in after the hurricane to see the damage and we couldn't."
Frustrated family
The family is frustrated and Tomlinson explained to THE STAR that her sister, who lives overseas, has several outstanding medical bills which she is unable to pay because of the loss of this revenue. She said, " She's not making any efforts to make the payments and when we could get her on the phone, she kept telling us that she was coming with the keys. We want to know how she plans to pay this money. Right now the house is up for sale, because my sister doesn't want to rent it anymore and we don't know what to do."
The matter was brought to the attention of the Police Complaints Division (PCD), which carried out its investigations and referred the file to the PPCA. A representative from the PPCA told THE STAR that the file was at present being reviewed, to see what suggestions or recommendations had been made by the PCD.
He said the review was being conducted to determine if the PPCA was in agreement with the suggestions made by the PCD, before the file was returned to them for action to be taken. He, however, could not say what action had been suggested.
Dats Y mi prefer 2 Sell. Caan live free @ wrenx or above u means.. If u cnt afford it get smwhere cheapr. 4 bedroom fi $22k. Dat a give away!!!!!! Mi fren a pay 10k fi a 1 Bedroon inna di same area