Upcoming dancehall artiste Laden says he is grateful for the exposure 'Digicel Rising Stars' gave him, but believes Big Ship Records is the major force behind his career.
Laden, whose real name is Okeefe Aarons, went by the name Jim Laden when he placed eighth in DigicelRising Stars in 2006. He says Rising Stars gave him a lot of exposure.
"It did a lot for me. Rising Stars gave me crazy promotion on TV, 24/7, doing my original stuff and people loving it. The name Laden, people can identify who it is," he told THE STAR.
After his stint on Rising Stars, he went to Montego Bay but realised that the area was not ideal for a career in music. From there, he moved to Kingston and started working at Shocking Vibes Limited. At Shocking Vibes, he recorded Gone A Lead on the Canta Rhythm and the theme song for World Cup 2007 with Devonte.
He started visiting Big Ship Records, where he says he made connections. In addition, he says they realised that he had potential. Soon after, he recorded Gal Coward on Stephen McGregor's Daybreak rhythm.
"I voice dat song when ah sick. I know keys and I can hold my notes, so I don't need auto-tune. I was hungry for it, so I bleach at the studio. I record it about three in the morning."
My everything
He added, "Right now, Big Ship is everything to my career. I have been recording songs for several producers and dem naah release dem. Stephen voice, mix and promote mi song dem as well."
With his signature intro, 'It's Laden ... What's going on', Laden has other songs that were done with Big Ship. These include, Don't You Like It, Do Your Thing, Really Like You and I'm Sorry, for which there is also a music video.
He says there are no immediate plans for an album but he is working on material to get his name known in the dancehall. While this is the case, he says he will not resort to violent lyrics.
"Yuh notice seh yuh nuh hear no gun tune so far. Wi jus' a try stay far from dat. I will be singing about the ladies all the time but no negative music," said Laden.