A workman on duty at the Urban Transport Centre which is currently under construction on Water Lane in downtown Kingston yesterday. - Ricardo Makyn
Several commuters and bus drivers are disgruntled that the Urban Transport Centre will be located next to Kingston's waterfront.
Many are concerned that they will have to travel a very far distance from parade to the transport centre - beside the Shell Service Station on Water Lane - while others fear for their safety since the area seems very desolate and lonely.
One of several upset bus drivers said, "Mi nah park dung deh, dem can stay wid dem new bus park, mi know seh a whole heap a people a go get rob down deh. Right here so (Parade), weh we deh now a the protected zone, we all have bathroom and thing, nuh baddy nah trouble we right ya so."
Many commuters shared similar sentiments. "Bwoy mi nuh know how mi ago manage wid my bag load them cause mi go market more while and fi travel to parade is a stress so u can imagine when it move gone round a back a bush," one said.
A hopeful commuter stated, "When it (the transport centre) fix up it ago look good and things a go run smooth and them mus have shuttle bus service fi transport people, so mi nah worry."
Reginald Allen, communications director at the Ministry of Transport and Works, said, "Persons do not understand that what we are doing is redeveloping the downtown area. The project of placing the transport centre adjacent to the waterfront is very strategic as we want that area to be a city again. Persons do not need to be fearful as stringent security and proper lighting will be there. Shuttle bus service will be provided and the bus routes will be adjusted to accommodate the long distance persons have to travel. We are basically taking back downtown, transforming it into a business hub."
He added: "It's part of moving forward, it started with the Half-Way Tree Transport Centre and now we are moving to downtown Kingston. The waterfront is the life of any city, downtown will be completely transformed and this redevelopment is part of a broader picture to uplift the city. Persons will see the difference and be excited to travel throughout the city; safety won't be a problem once the centre is completed.
The Kingston Western police are also not concerned as they are not anticipating any problems. Detective Inspector Leslie Ashman stated, "We will have to watch and see if the crime will escalate once the centre is opened and then implement measures, but for now we are not expecting anything drastic."