Topic: AMAZING!!! Barack Obama To Give 100% DEBT RELIEF To Africa And The Caribbean IF ELECTED TO OFFICE

*Mzj Producer*

AMAZING!!! Barack Obama To Give 100% DEBT RELIEF To Africa And The Caribbean IF ELECTED TO OFFICE

Democratic presidential candidate, Senator Barack Obama, is promising 100 per cent debt relief for the Caribbean if he becomes the next leader of the United States.

That would translate for Jamaica into a $29 billion write-off in central government debt to the US, a small portion of the near $500 billion of foreign debt the island is carrying, Jamaica's finance ministry figures show.

Policy to be pursued

While Obama himself did not reveal that plan for the region, his foreign policy adviser, Dan Restrepo, told the Government and tourism officials attending the Caribbean Tourism Organisation conference here that this is one of the policies to be pursued by Obama if elected to office.

"As you all well know, the poorest countries in the world, including some in the Caribbean, suffer under the weight of enormous external debt. Barack Obama wants to see a 100 per cent debt cancellation for the world's heavily indebted poor countries, including all such countries in the Caribbean," he said.

Jamaica's debt

The USAID is a a major conduit of US financing to overseas countries and groups.

Jamaica's breakout of its US debt shows that it owes the agency $5.6 billion.

The country is more heavily indebted to the US Department of Agriculture which it owes $7.7 billion and the Federal Financing Bank, which holds $14.6 billion of the country's US debt.

Restrepo also spoke about Obama's intention to facilitate trade between the US and Cuba, saying that the Democrat would personally lead direct diplomacy with Cuban officials.

He said the presidential hopeful also understood the unique security challenges of the Caribbean and that the issue of trans-national crime was of great importance to the region.

He has, therefore, promised to restore funding for drug control programmes that were cut by the George W. Bush administration and to put an end to the illegal gun trade in the south.

wow!!! lets see if this really comes through

hmmm wow that would b great

hmm thats interesting, we will see

I aLwAyS tElL tHe TrUtH eVeN wHeN i'M lYiNg

a weh yu a seh?...we'll see...

i like i like

He's a politician Robolady...thats what they do =)

that kinda hard fi believe

wow we will wait and see

ll3949o49tp.gif

zeet deh

it wasn't maid clear, is one a him dude dem tell we. lets see what happens though

promises to rawtid

lets see innit...

Host unlimited photos at slide.com for FREE!

very interesting

GOD SEND OBAMA SO SAVE US

If him do it dat woulda nice still but it ago hard fi do

HOWDIE