Polar scientists reveal dramatic new evidence of climate change
By Steve Connor, Science Editor
Friday, 27 June 2008

INDEPENDENT GRAPHICS
ENLARGE
Related Articles

Click here to have your say
Peter Wadhams: Every time I visit the Arctic, the ice gets thinner
Scientists warn Arctic sea ice is melting at its fastest rate since records began
More on Climate Change
Print Email

Search
Go
Independent.co.uk Web
Bookmark & Share

Digg It
del.icio.us
Facebook
Stumbleupon
What are these?

Change font size: A A A
It seems unthinkable, but for the first time in human history, ice is on course to disappear entirely from the North Pole this year.

The disappearance of the Arctic sea ice, making it possible to reach the Pole sailing in a boat through open water, would be one of the most dramatic and worrying examples of the impact of global warming on the planet. Scientists say the ice at 90 degrees north may well have melted away by the summer.

"From the viewpoint of science, the North Pole is just another point on the globe, but symbolically it is hugely important. There is supposed to be ice at the North Pole, not open water," said Mark Serreze of the US National Snow and Ice Data Centre in Colorado.

If it happens, it raises the prospect of the Arctic nations being able to exploit the valuable oil and mineral deposits below these a bed which have until now been impossible to extract because of the thick sea ice above.

Seasoned polar scientists believe the chances of a totally ice-free North Pole this summer are greater than 50:50 because the normally thick ice formed over many years at the Pole has been blown away and replaced by huge swathes of thinner ice formed over a single year.

This one-year ice is highly vulnerable to melting during the summer months and satellite data coming in over recent weeks shows that the rate of melting is faster than last year, when there was an all-time record loss of summer sea ice at the Arctic.

"The issue is that, for the first time that I am aware of, the North Pole is covered with extensive first-year ice ice that formed last autumn and winter. I'd say it's even-odds whether the North Pole melts out," said Dr Serreze.

Each summer the sea ice melts before reforming again during the long Arctic winter but the loss of sea ice last year was so extensive that much of the Arctic Ocean became open water, with the water-ice boundary coming just 700 miles away from the North Pole

I guess God knows what hes doing...

SCIENTIST f**k UP D WORLD

Dem Smoke too much Crack

http://www.myspace.com/jayjamrock
image.php?u=1813&type=sigpic&dateline=1173305869

*Mzj Producer*
Poor lil jamaica!..........A few years from now jamaica will be covered with water!

not not even funny, cause it just might happen

mi si dis longtime

lol diss bredda ya no worry bout we a cover in wata we done surrounded by it and a get flood out by it wen hurricane or little storm pass so no sorry fi we and if my country a go f**k up mi no come ur country den Klanz man

tshift in the earth yow.. sign of nuff tings to come

this shit maybe serious

badddddddddddddd

banner_dailytunes3C.jpg

***MZJA's GANJA GAD***
The World as we kno it is comin 2 an end...pray.gif...im praying dat i live ah nice life!!

qtp93533.gif

~DI WEED REVEALS U TO UR TRU SELF!!!~

CAH STAP SMOKE IT... ***HIGH ALWAYZZZzzz***

if the earth get hot dem seh is global warming and if it get cold dem seh is global warming............Cold? yes cold, but how we say the earth is getting warm when it cold at that time???

yow dem a think wen it too late...look how much people a dead...yow di boss soon cum...it seh all these things in a di bible as sign fi wen di man a cum...

Host unlimited photos at slide.com for FREE!

doubt it

**MZJA GIRLS INTERVIEWER**

them dont know shit, when god come him come, f**king white people always a predict the future

mi a hope fi the best at the end

we dont take care of the country thats what the problem is. go green!