MZ STINGERKILLER

'I'M ASHAMED'

Simoes mourns Ja's loss to lowly Grenada
KAYON RAYNOR Senior staff reporter raynork@jamaicaobserver.com
Thursday, June 12, 2008

20080611T230000-0500_136646_OBS__I_M_ASHAMED__1.jpg
Technical director Rene Simoes speaks with journalists on arrival at the Norman Manley International Airport from Grenada yesterday. The Reggae Boyz lost 1-2 against the hosts in a friendly international on Tuesday. (Photo: Lionel Rookwood)

DESCRIBING Tuesday's 1-2 defeat by lowly ranked Grenada as a "shame" and "unacceptable", national technical director Rene Simoes says the Reggae Boyz will rebound in Sunday's CONCACAF World Cup qualifier against the Bahamas at 'The Office'.

The second leg will be played at the Trelawny Multi-Purpose Stadium on June 18.

"Nobody can be pleased to lose to Grenada; it's a shame, it's unacceptable, we are very upset," Simoes told journalists after arriving at the Norman Manley International Airport from the eastern Caribbean yesterday.

"I think maybe it will be a good wake-up call for the entire squad, that (we) don't look (at) Bahamas as we looked at Grenada, and football is not basketball, it's a different sport that anyone can beat anyone, so I think it's a good wake-up call," added the philosophical Brazilian.

20080611T230000-0500_136646_OBS__I_M_ASHAMED__2.jpg
A contemplative Reggae Boyz captain Ricardo Gardner on arrival at the Norman Manley International Airport yesterday from Grenada where the team lost 1-2 against the host nation. In the background are Luton Shelton (right) and Adrian Rei. (Photo: Lionel Rookwood)

Second-half goals by Sharlie Joseph (68th) and Blackburn Rovers' Jason Roberts (76th) lifted the 143 FIFA-ranked Grenadians to a stunning 2-1 come-from-behind win over Jamaica - ranked 45 places higher at 98. Ricardo Fuller scored first for the Reggae Boyz in the 20th minute.

"We started the game very well. The game looked like we would beat them easily, but we made so many mistakes, losing focus and concentration, so all of us, we have to settle down, think (and) learn lessons and know how to take the games against teams like that another way," Simoes stated.

"We have to make analysis and see what is supposed to be done... the next game will not be the same, I guarantee you it will not be the same," he emphasised.

Simoes, who is serving his second stint as technical director, having guided the country to the 1998 World Cup Finals in France, has already decided on his starting XI for Sunday's opening qualifying match.

"I can tell you the team (that) will start the game will be (Donovan) Ricketts, Tyrone (Marshall), (Jermaine) Taylor, (Ian) Goodison, Ricardo Gardner, (Rudolph) Austin, Evon Taylor, Andy Williams, (Demar) Phillips if he be OK, Ricardo Fuller if he be OK and Marlon King that's the team.

I have not doubt I think this team can perform well," Simoes disclosed.

Phillips and Fuller sustained respective ankle and knee injuries in Tuesday's match in St George's.

But Simoes seems confident both players, who will ply their trade in the English Premiership with Stoke City next season, will recover in time for Sunday's clash.

"I think Phillips looks much better... and Ricardo Fuller, I don't know, let's talk to doctors and see how he will recover for this game... We are pretty confident that both of them will play," he insisted.

The CONCACAF World Cup qualification stage for the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa which started with 35 national teams competing for the three automatic berths is now down to 24 teams.

The fourth-placed finisher will play a two game play-off series against the fifth-placed finisher from CONMEBOL for a possible fourth berth.

ll3949o49tp.gif

MZ STINGERKILLER
look like them naw go a world cup if them continue fi play soooo

Dem fi changed dem name to reggae girls........cuz dem a act like some lil bitch now!

yow mi shame miself fi know seh a dem man yah a represent wi country. Imagine Grenada beat wi pitypity

Disappointments in life are just little steps that take you up to greater things.