Marc's death shocks entertainment fraternity

mediazoneja Reporters

STARRIGHT_1_PCTCUDAngelAM.jpg
Publicist Marc Johnson poses with artiste D'Angel at a photo shoot for the STAR centrespread recently. - Winston Sill

The death of popular entertainment publicist Marc Johnson has shocked and dismayed the entertainment fraternity.

Johnson, 42, was found strangled at his apartment on Sullivan Place on Sunday. Reports are that at about 12:30 p.m neighbours found Johnson's body with an electrical cord tied around his neck. The police were later summoned.

Johnson was known for his work with entertainment figures such as former Dancehall Queen Carlene, Beenie Man, dancer Bogle, D' Angel and recording label Shocking Vibes.

Come to grips

For D' Angel, one of Johnson's clients, she still has not come to grips with his death. "Up to now I can't believe it, I was at an event last night when I heard and I'm trying to tell myself it's a rumour. I just saw him last Thursday cause he was away for a while, and we were talking about stuff we planned to do. We've worked together professionally and he's been a friend. Everyone who knows Marc, loves Marc, he's a real vibrant person, professional and driven. I wanna send condolences to his family and friends," she said.

A sad Lady Saw told THE mediazonejathat she had just found out about his death and was still in shock. She said, "it's so sad, such a surprise, I've known him for a while, he used to be around Hard Rock when I was there. When I used to have shows he used to come out and promote. He was quite a guy, funny and very helpful, can't even know how this could happen to someone like him when he's not a violent person he was always so happy."

According to dancehall artiste Stacious she had just seen Marc the night before his death. "Me, him and Flames were at Rich N Happy Saturday morning dancing up a storm. Throughout Sunday I was trying to call him to ask him bout Lena British party and neva get through. I'm still here trying to process it," she said.

While Stacious has seen Marc around she really got to know him that night at Rich N Happy and is shocked by this loss.

Shocked

When THE mediazoneja contacted Clyde McKenzie of Shocking Vibes he said he was still shocked by what had occurred. McKenzie said he had seen Johnson around as he used to be an independent publicist at the company.

"I used to see him around. He used to do some work for us (at Shocking Vibes). I know he had a knack for what he was doing, very unorthodox," McKenzie said.

Meanwhile, the Constant Spring police who are investigating, say they have not yet established a motive for the killing.

Police sources, however, told THE mediazonejathat Johnson's killer might have left the electrical cord around his neck, in an attempt to mislead investigators into thinking that the publicist had committed suicide.

ASian Production

no plagiarism of news please... give credit where its due

lol @cp

bwoy

kk

Clarksman to di world!

true thing cp...........this is sad though

I aLwAyS tElL tHe TrUtH eVeN wHeN i'M lYiNg

I was wondering how come Mediazoneja was mentioned in the story...............