Mi sorry mi neva come wid the Friday Juice, mi go P Splash and it never keep, and then mi go party ah Quad and never come in till 6 a.m. so mi wake up late and then mi get a phone call say one of mi friend dem get shot and dead outta Rockfort. The way mi fras, mi just go Ocho Rios fi the weekend, and try build back a vibe. Not even mi $525 Manolos mi cousin bring fi me coulda comfort me, nothing, so mi just hold a meds fi a while, but yu dun know, ah so Jamaica set right now.
REID AND BUJU SAGA TO CONTINUE A YARD?
Everyone is concerned that the Junior Reid and Buju Banton saga coulda, ah long time the bad feelings ah carry under the quiet because dem say Banton label Junior Reid, Junior Greed, so when him come over and a hail him, Reid coulden deal with the hypocrite ting anymore, him just give him a piece of his mind and the thing get outta hand. Anyway, dem ah two big man inna the business and the way Jamaica ah run right now, we need more unity and less division. Nuh Buju did a appeal for everybody fi clean up the music business, him fi just hold the big man role now and quash this vibes. What yu tink Jamaica?
MY NIKE SHOE DEAL?
Now, mi hear everybody ah talk this and that about my shoe deal with NIKE. But dont get it twisted, mi just order five custom-built shoes from Nike, mi have mi international credit card. Last year, mi and mi girlfriend feel idle and we go this store in Manhattan, and mi design mi own sneaker, and mi join the waiting list and mi just get through. I never signed no deal with Nike or nothing and mi nuh feel say Mavado do that but right now, the whole ah Jamaica feel say him get deal because dem no read. Dem fi stop try trick the people dem, ah dat mi say. And by the way, my sneakers dont say ABENA TO THE EFFING WORLD, sorry Phlex, it says Bitch With Attitude (BWA). Weh dem feel like?
P SPASH AH THE HOTTEST THING
Why Cabbage neva just pay the money fi the selector come ah P Splash come play last week? Right now, ah my favourite session right after Assassins Girls Gone Wild on Tuesdays. Ah just crazy flossing, with Mavado and Killer dem on one side ah buy crazy Henessey, and Beenie Man over the next side ah gwaan wid a bagga tings. But one of my favourite P Splash moments happened with Flippa Mafia when he arrived in the Porsche truck and the selector dem start play Mavados Make Money and him just blow the horn and the crowd just get wild. Mad tings. P Splash to the world, ah dat mi say.
HOT SINGLES TO WATCH FOR The hottest singles on the road are songs like Early Morning by Jim Laden who rose to some amount of infamy when he appeared on the Digicel Rising Stars show almost three years ago. And a special big up to Doniki, a protégé of Jah B (Bunny Wailer) who has come into his own now with a sweet single called Gully Bank. Not known by many in Jamaica even though he has a big profile in places like France, Germany and Africa, Doniki scored a number one album in Paris in 2006 with an effort called Radikal Expression on the Ocho Rios-based Kariang label e protégé for many years of three times Grammy-winner Bunny Wailer
BUJU BANTON DROPS JAMROCK CLASSICS
Buju Banton is putting the events of last week behind him and moving on with his production work. He is getting read to drop Jamrock Classics Vol. 1 which is the third compilation from Buju Banton's blossoming Gargamel Music label. The project will be officially released on June 30th in Jamaica and the Caribbean, the UK and Europe. Hear tracks from the album @ www.myspace.com/gargamelmusicinc
DEATH OF A FASHION HERO
This was a sad weekend for me especially because of the death of one of my favourite designers Yves Saint Laurent. His gift to fashion was that he empowered women after Chanel had freed them. I was a big fan of his Rive Gauche ready-to-wear boutiques.
THE PEOPLE WAAN FI KNOW
Why French Connection get postponed?
What is the latest with promoter Rodrick Reid?