Thierry Henry was reportedly on the verge of a move to Manchester United two weeks ago - but changed his mind after talks with Pep Guardiola.
The France striker had a disappointing first season at the Nou Camp following his £16million switch to Barcelona from Arsenal last summer.
The main reason for his poor form was being asked to play in an unfamiliar left-wing role by Barca coach Frank Rijkaard, who has since left the club after failing to win any domestic or European silverware.
Guardiola has taken the reins at the Catalan giants, and is believed to have talked Henry out of a £10million switch to Old Trafford.
The Sunday Mirror quotes a source as saying: "Thierry was told by the new coach he didn't want him to leave, that he was going to be a big player for Barca next season and would have an important role to play for them.
"That reassured Thierry - but United were ready to buy him."
Samuel Eto'o and Ronaldinho are widely expected to leave Barca this summer, meaning 30-year-old Henry could become their first-choice striker.
u know seh mi did ago post dis enuh but cho mi leff it fi sum poor arsenal fan like dk fi post lollolol pooor arsenal barca ac milan liverpool chelsea lololol man utd and as roma a di best team inna di place
up2 like tings change.....an kadeem a wah u lef me alone inno!!!
HENRY IS THE GREATEST STICKER AROUND AND MAN U NUH DESERVE HIM.everybody can say him nuh good but when him fit him is some u really nuh wah play against