Rub-a-dub riddim

Rub-A-Dub Riddim Delivers Mega Hits
01 May 2008 | A.K.A., Contributing Writer

The Rub-a-Dub riddim is straight reggae gold. With a throwback 70s sound, the rhythm is arguably the dominant one-drop project in Jamaica today. Richie Spices The Plane Land sums the quintessential Jamaican experience on traveling to the United States in the post 9-11 era, one that is relief (that you have arrived safely) and angst (that you are about to be interrogated and made belittled at the hands of US officials).

Here are a couple lines: the plane land, yes the plane land/saddle up myself fi tek interrogation/the plane land, yes the plane land/Mek up mi mind fi face immigration.

Then Richie uses great humour to detail the numerous discourtesies visited on the heads of anyone traveling in the US these days: draw out mi belt lef mi pants inna mi hand/scan all mi eye and ask mi whe mi come from/ tek off mi shoes, dem say tek off yu tam/if dem eva find yu wid a spliff, yu gone another land.

Etana represents well with the defiant I Am Not Afraid showing why she is regarded as one of the great finds in the world of reggae in the past two years. The song reaffirms her belief in the Most High even in the face of the evil which walks by night to devour your flesh.

Considered by many as the biggest hit single on the rhythm is Nesbeths Guns Out this Morning. You can see the clear arc of Nesbeths growth as a recording artiste because this is a gem of a song that details an experience which is common to almost every Jamaican whose life has been touched by deadly gun violence. When you get up in the morning and head to work and see the yellow crime scene tape and the spinning roofrack of lights on the police vehicles, your subconscious immediately makes note: guns out again this morning. The use of the voice filter (auto tune) adds a sweet melancholic quality to Nesbeths voice that works on several levels to show the pain and stresses that define the ghetto experience.

Morgan Heritages scathing Nothing to Smile About is a brilliantly produced song, one of their best efforts in the last four years, which asks serious questions of the political establishment. Other standout songs include Anthony Bs inspirational Striving and Teflons fiery Were Gonna Make It.

Special kudos to Kemar McGregor aka DJ Flava and keyboardist Llamar 'Riff Raff' Brown, the creators of the '83 Riddim' featuring the #1 Queen Ifrica hit 'Daddy Don't Touch Me there', who have yet another hit rhythm on their hands.

Tracklisting:
01. I Am Not Afraid - Etana
02. The Plane Land - Richie Spice
03. Same Old Story - Capleton
04. Nothing To Smile About - Morgan Heritage
05. Striving - Anthony B
06. Gunz Out - Nesbeth
07. Most High Jah - Fantan Mojah
08. No Frighten We - I Octane
09. We're Gonna Make It - Teflon
10. Never Lost My Way - Ginjah
11. Ain't No Stopping Us Now - Junior Reid